1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Is it possible to use a phone as a booster?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mk_aldatym, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. mk_aldatym

    mk_aldatym Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Hi I'm a new Android user, yaaaay, Desire HD :)

    I just wanted to know: I figured out how to teether, right, now I was wandering if I can use my phone as booster. Can teether my mobile on using wi-fi internet instead of my data plan? Stupid question, i know but I have my reasons lol

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not out of the box, the only way to tether is using the phones data connection. I suppose the reasoning behind it is that why they wouldn't expect you to need to use it as a WiFi hotspot if there was a wireless router nearby. I can understand it would be handy as a booster though.

    All the apps on the market appear to do the same; they use the 3G connection as opposed to WiFi.
     
  3. Besadl

    Besadl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    If you want to usb tether your phone whilst using it's wifi connection for data this is perfectly feasible straight from the box :D I have done it many a time with no problems :)

    To do so turn mobile data off, connect to wifi network on your phone, then set your phone to usb tethering.
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,932
    3,118
    Scotland
    I didn't realise that use the WiFi, I presumed it used the 3G as well, thanks. :)
     
  5. Besadl

    Besadl Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011

    Aug 10, 2011
    4
    1
    6
    Your welcome :) I only found it worked due to sheer laziness of not wanting to find out and type a 32digit wpa key into my laptop round a friends house :cool:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...