1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is it possible to use an inactive Android like an iPod touch?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jsnowash, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. jsnowash

    jsnowash Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    One of my kids REALLY wants an ipod touch, but I'm not willing to spend the $$ on a device she might easily loose or break.... I was wondering if it would work to get an inexpensive android phone (either used or a cheap pre-paid phone, Cricket, Netzero, etc.), leave it unactivated (she doesn't need it as a phone), load on some game apps, music, etc., and let her use it like an ipod touch. If the phone isn't activated, would we be able to access wi-fi to download apps?
     

    Advertisement

  2. No_u

    No_u Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    483
    45
    63
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,873
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,873
    4,570
    1,108
    Male
    You can activate it with kid's gmail address, then turn it offline mode, remove Sim, then when you boot it up activate wifi.
     
    UssjTrunks likes this.
  4. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Not all phones have SIM card slots, though. CDMA phones do not. Cricket and Boost use the Sprint network, which is CDMA. But most phones will allow you to set airplane mode and then you can manually turn on wifi, which basically make it an iPod Touch.
     
    dan330 likes this.
  5. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,857
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,857
    3,449
    923
    go to craigslist.org
    find a good deal on used android.

    to go your pc..
    create a google gmail account for your kid.

    use the gmail account for the phone.
    only turn on wifi.

    i have an old hero, that my kid uses...
     
  6. ouch1976

    ouch1976 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    539
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    539
    90
    78
    Absolutely! I have an OG Droid with a cracked screen that the kids use. There's no SIM card on most older Verizon 3G phones. You just skip the activation step, hit the home button, and you're free to play. And if you add your gmail account, you should be able to download all the apps you've already purchased. You can get a Droid OG for like $50 on craigslist and you don't have to spend any money on apps. It's a great setup.
     
  7. John Redcorn

    John Redcorn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    439
    80
    53
    Keep in mind any non-activated phone, cdma or gsm even without a sim can still call 911. Probably even from airplane mode. This may be a good thing or a bad thing depending on your kid's understanding of 911.
     
  8. NMC813

    NMC813 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    FL
    I hope she isn't wanting specific apps.
    Maybe she wants apple apps. This reminds me of how my mom always bought me generic stuff. I asked for Keds and got some Walmart brand lol.

    Not saying android is generic. I love my android phone and google TV. But I like apple too.

    Sent from my iPad2.
     
  9. jsnowash

    jsnowash Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Can you elaborate for me? The phone I'm considering for her is a Cricket phone, so CDMA, I guess (considering either ZTE Score or Samsung Vitality, both on sale for a pretty reasonable price right now). Can a CMDA phone be used this way?
     
  10. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Yes, any CDMA phone can be used as a PMP.

    To avoid "E911" issues, simply remove the dialer app from the phone. (Needs root acces)
     

Share This Page

Loading...