1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Is it possible to use as hot spot?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chuck-sc, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. chuck-sc

    chuck-sc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    21
    0
    15
    Charleston, SC
    Is it possible to use as a hot spot without rooting?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tickerguy

    tickerguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Not as a "hotspot." PDANet works but only through Bluetooth or USB (it never did work through Wifi) and Barnacle works with reservations (you must adjust the MTU on your client machine(s), and it's ad-hoc mode only.)

    The actual hotspot option, if you try to enable it using the hidden menu programs that are out there, does not work. It appears the kernel is missing the necessary functions (this is fixable with a proper kernel, but without one is not fixable at all.)

    To replace the kernel however requires rooting as well.
     
    chuck-sc likes this.
  3. maclaren

    maclaren Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011

    Jul 25, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I achieved wifi tether with barnacle and wifi tether for root but yes they both require root...
     
  4. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    AFAIK - this is not possible (even with root) without hacking the MTU packets on the clients attaching to the hotspot. Not an elegant solution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...