1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Is it preferrable to root a tablet ?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by GKL, Aug 22, 2012.

1. GKL

GKL Member

I am new to the android / tablet world and am trying to learn from others' experiences so as to avoid making unnecessary mistakes.

First - should rooting be an automatic thing everyone should do to a tablet ? :thinking:

What are the pros (and cons, if any) of rooting ?

What is the easiest, most foolproof way to root, or is there a proven app that will do it automatically ?

Does it really make a big difference if you decide NOT to root ?

Can you root later on after you had a tablet for a while and have a lot of apps installed ?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Metroid Prime

Metroid Prime Oil Can!!! Oil Can!!!

Hello and welcome to Android Forums, GKL. :)

To me rooting is more of a choice and it's really up to you if you want to root or not. Some people do it ASAP while others do it later or never. Your choice. :)
    When rooted you have full administrative access to all the various places of your device and have full control over it. You can add/remove the OS and replace it with a newer fresh OS that changes the look and feel of your device and can use root only apps too and can really make your device yours with all that you can do with it. If something goes wrong during the root process you can brick (break) your device giving it the functionality of a brick and you void your warranty when you root so you're on your own is something goes wrong where you can't recover from it.
    Don't really know of a easy, full proof way to root a device, but you could check in your devices forum and look at it's All Things Root guide. I don't think there's an app that automatically does this either. There is a difference, but there's people who are happy when they do root and there's people who are happy that they aren't rooted.