1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is launcher pro really worth my time?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bdnh, Nov 22, 2010.

  1. bdnh

    bdnh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    I went through some of the "what does your screen look like
    and I want mine to look like some of them.
    Please help, oh I know no one cares but I just rooted my phone
    Fussion I believe.
    Anyway thank you for the help if I get it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    If you like the scrollable app bar at the bottom, Launcher Pro is nice to have. I don't know if anyone else makes the Sense-like widgets that Launcher Pro Plus has, but they're OK. Being able to assign intents to any button with an icon of anything from your gallery can really add to your customization.

    I don't root yet, so I am not sure what else is available to you. The app also lets you hide the Notification bar, but a lot of rooted phones do interesting things with that.
     
  3. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    I've had Stock, AWD, and Launcher Pro. Launcher Pro was the best by far and I upgraded to the Plus. You can resize widgets anyway you want along with some other cool features only Plus provides. It's definitely worth your time!
     
  4. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    I would recommend Launcher Pro to anyone! I have been using it for a long time, and honestly, I can't see myself using any other Launcher.
     
  5. bdnh

    bdnh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    alright do some of yall have screen shots from your phones? so i can get an idea how to customize mine?
     
  6. bdnh

    bdnh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    This also seems like it drains your battery does it?
     
  7. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    Well, here is a screenshot of my homepage ...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. asilver

    asilver Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    164
    2
    36
    is there an app for screenshots yet, how did you get your screen shot
     
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    I'm rooted and use drocap2.
     
  10. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    Drocap is ok, but I use Shootme over it.
     
  11. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    I've never tried Shootme, do you have to be rooted for it as well?
     
  12. sherri

    sherri Android Expert
    Rank:
     #129
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,168
    507
    213
    Yes, you need to be rooted for Shoot Me as well....
     
  13. bdnh

    bdnh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Any more screen shots?
     
  14. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    594
    76
    78
    NJ
  15. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
  16. jpetersen5

    jpetersen5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    80
    3
    16
    Anyone else seeing Launcher Pro Plus force close a lot recently (since the latest OTA update)? I've had probably about 10 Force Closes in that time and general slowness when clicking the unlock (power) button to open the screen.

    Also noticing a lot of times when I lock the phone, the screen goes off, but the backlight on the 4 "buttons" stays on. Obviously not a Launcher Pro issue, but figured I'd mention it while I'm talking about issues I was having to see if others are seeing similar things..
     
  17. bdnh

    bdnh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    41
    0
    15
    Yeah mine actually cuts of completely and restarts it self maybe its from that I don't know.
    But its never done that before I rooted it and put laucher on it.
     
  18. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    I've had one FC in 3 months and no other issues with LP.
     
  19. 3devious

    3devious Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,360
    115
    163
    Washington, DC area
    My D2 reboots every so often. The only time I got force closes was a long time ago on a D1, I went from 5 screens back to 3 but moved all of the widgets and things the wrong way, I thought it started counting from the right so I moved most of my widgets that way and when it reset, it was trying to put widgets where screens had been deleted and went into an FC loop. If I didn't have a keyboard, I would have had to take it to the VZW store.

    I hadn't considered the reboots being the fault of Launcher Pro because they didn't happen often enough to make me think about it, but it is happening more frequently now. Fede did post that it was written for 2.1 and that 2.2's Launcher is just different enough to merit a rewrite. This was almost 2 months ago, so he might be preparing a completely new Launcher Pro for the new way that Launcher 2.2 handles things. I just hope that Gingerbread and Honeycomb don't do this to Launcher Pro without at least picking up some of the slack.
     
  20. iDR0ID

    iDR0ID Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    28
    2
    36
    LP has nice FB and Twitter apps. Resizing is a plus (I know ADW allows that too)

    Love the scrollable dock and swipe features. At this point, I consider LP my STOCK launcher. And until something better comes along, I'm very happy with it.
     
  21. inssane

    inssane Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    1,851
    156
    163
    Chi-Town
    LP is great - I have had better luck with no lag on ADW.
    LP was always laggy switching screens no matter what config I had (a couple months ago)
    I haven't tried it since, but go for it
     
  22. paulmmcneil

    paulmmcneil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I absolutely love Launcher Pro, and it's totally worth paying for the full version. I've gotten it to exactly where I want it.
     
  23. Mardoon

    Mardoon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I enjoy Laucher Pro Plus. Fission 2.3.1 Laucher Pro Plus v.0.8.2 Beautiful Widgets v 2.36 > I refuse to update i like the htc clock :)
    overpic.jpg

    You can also get weather & toggle widget from the market, almost exact same thing.
     
  24. barely_legal_lover

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010

    Dec 5, 2010
    81
    10
    18
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    two things make LP my choice....
    1. resizeable widgets (and I know that ADW launcher has that too)
    2. scrollable dock at the bottom. Up to 3 rows, and 15 spots. Then if you swipe, you can assign 2 things to each spot.... 30 possible apps or bookmarks can be assigned.

    I paid for the pro version of it and don't regret it. And I don't ever buy apps.
     
  25. FLORIDA_STATE_UNIVERSITY

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    agreed

    I love launcher pro.


    (BTW - Love the FSU theme - where did you get that FSU clock?)
     

Share This Page

Loading...