1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Is 'Locale' a good program?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GatorsUF, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. GatorsUF

    GatorsUF Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    152
    46
    43
    Just read an article on Locale and they said it is a must have. It allows you to automatically connect to WiFi while at home or work to supposedly save battery. It also can auto silent/vibrate your phone depending on where you are or who is calling. Among lots of other options.

    Now I am wondering if it actually saves battery or uses more because it is always running and changing stuff...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I bought it due to all of the positive reviews the day I bought my Incredible. I used it for about a week and uninstalled it. I tried reinstalling it for about a another week not long ago, but I still don't like it. I've found that:

    1. The GPS isn't accurate enough to actually work well. I've tried making the circle for the coordinates bigger than should need to be and it still isn't accurate. (example: I had it set to turn my ringer off in church, it kept turning it off and on. I received a text in church and it said "Droid" loudly. Pretty embarrassing.)

    2. It DRAINS the battery. On a power challenged device like the Incredible, locale is not a good choice.

    3. With all the widgets and the power control bar widget that comes standard on the Incredible, it's really not necessary.
     
  3. sabrewings

    sabrewings Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    895
    104
    93
    Avionics
    I just remember to hit the Wifi button on the power widget. Then, I have Wifi Status (free) installed. It puts a little icon in the notification bar anytime Wifi is on but you're not connected to a network. A reminder to turn it off, pretty much. I'm usually good about remembering to turn if off as I walk out the door, but Wifi Status has my back.
     
    euph_22 likes this.
  4. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    I think it was a lot better several versions ago. I know my brother used it on his g1 back when it was free, and doesn't now.
     
  5. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    Thanks for the tip! Installing as I type.
     
  6. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    i would get "settings profile" instead. Its pretty accurate (I use the gps) and alot cheaper.
     

Share This Page

Loading...