1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is loki possible

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by justoneguy, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    Jw but I came from the lg motion from metro and i remember they had a loki patch/kernal for their phone for unlocking the bootloader and was wondering if it was possible for our phones instead of many having a hard time unlocking it with the current guide? (No disrespect i really appreciate all the devs that worked to make even rooting possible) i was really just wondering that's all but it would be great if it was possible ^_^
     

    Advertisement

  2. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    That would probably have to be done by bliss and since our bootloader while hard is unlockable I doubt he'd mess with it. Loki doesn't unlock the bootloader it patches the security checks at boot to trick the system to thinking it's unlocked thus allowing roms to be flashed on a technically locked bootloader... You could always ask him. Search the motion forum until you get to the section where loki first came in to play there's a link to his contact info I think.
     
    jakman likes this.
  3. Xt51

    Xt51 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    465
    101
    68
    Male
    Student
    Florida
    Loki only supports the msm_sdcc platform and uses aboot partition. Ours is OMAP platform and uses a uboot partition
    It would take some time to port it over. But it could be possible.
     
  4. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    That is what I was going to say next until I passed out when I got off work. I didn't think it would work with omap. I don't know much about omap yet.. I don't plan to either as I'll never get another phone that uses it.
     
  5. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    thanks guys I just tried contacting bliss and I hope he sends a positive response :)
     
  6. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    I got a response!

    " Assuming the LG L9 has a locked bootloader, I can port Loki to it if you
    send me the aboot.img from the device, as well as the full model number
    and LG build number.
    "

    but how do I get him the aboot.IMG? and making sure of myself the model number is LGMS769 right? also I'm sure most l9 with v10d is running build JZO54K right? help me out here so I can help you? lol but bliss seems cool about me asking him so let's try to get this guys?
     
  7. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    Look here in your root file manager for a start....
    dev/block/platform /omap
     
  8. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    I believe the kernel build is still the same on version 10e but most I think ARE still running 10d so that would be in my opinion the img we would want to go with.(someone that knows about kernels could patch it to e and so on later) Only thing is that omap uses uboot not aboot. You might explain that to him next time you exchange verses.
     
  9. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    yea that was my bad... I haven't got much into all that stuff yet but I'm trying to... it's quite a headache to me but I hope to know more sooner then later... but I'll goo take a look right now
     
  10. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    I just looked and there are two folders and multiple files :( I'm lost again
     
  11. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
  12. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    Man I am a total noob but I'm assuming it's the file that called "boot" in the by-name folder?
     
  13. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    I would most likely assume but I would also consider the "u" file(just a guess too) . That's about the most I know..
     
  14. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
    Also remember that a lot of the roms flash a kernel with it. So if you were to flash one you'd also have to flash the loki kernel after and would nullify the kernel for the rom which I believe could cause issues.
     
  15. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    Yea that's right.... Hmm...I guess it's harder to do then it sounds unless he had an L9 of his own...-_-
     
  16. Xt51

    Xt51 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    465
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    465
    101
    68
    Male
    Student
    Florida
    Just make a CwM backup. Then unzip. If anything it should be in that folder. The boot.img of course
     
  17. Swainsmith82

    Swainsmith82 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,242
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012

    Aug 10, 2012
    1,242
    407
    183
    Male
    Life
    Texas
  18. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    Thanks buddy I messaged him with all the info I know/that he asked for and did tell him off the uboot IMG instead of aboot... Let's hope we get this *crosses fingers*
     
  19. justoneguy

    justoneguy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    111
    11
    38
    Male
    CNC Machine Operator
    got some bad news guys :(

    " Since this device does not use a Qualcomm-based bootloader, it is not possible to support it with Loki."

    that blows... but I'm going to donate something to him anyway to thank him for using his time to look into it for us!
     
    aprilx0x likes this.
  20. tbstewa

    tbstewa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    It uses Qualcomm's LK bootloader, it just uses the x-loader and u-boot for omap devices
     
  21. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Ok, wondering....why would you want loki? Unlock bootloader is already available. Yes it is tedious and my bootloader is STILL locked. Some have tried 1000000000 times in a day and couldn't get the thing unlocked, few months later he tries again and what do ya know? It unlocked.

    My phone is being a pest with unlocking -.-
     

Share This Page

Loading...