1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is my custom ROM due an upgrade?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mmusaji, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. mmusaji

    mmusaji Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    52
    6
    16
    I was looking at the latest MoDaCo ROM and it seems its moved on quite a bit since when I first got my phone and put the custom ROM on it. Was wondering if it was worth upgrading?

    I'm happy with the way the phone is, so unless there's a serious improvement I probably won't bother.

    My build number says 2.73.405.5 MCR2.2c

    On another note, if I did upgrade, would it put the phone back to factory standard (i.e would I lose all my customisation, apps, etc)?
     

    Advertisement

  2. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    You can go to 3.1 without wiping ;)
     
  3. mmusaji

    mmusaji Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    52
    6
    16
    Tempting... I'm sort of worried as it seems like a huge leap, and with A2SD as standard and everything I'm thinking it will take me ages to get my phone to where it is now.

    I guess what I'm asking is when doing the update, would everything be back to normal when my phone restarts, or would I end up having to tweak/dl apps/set up home screens/shortcuts all over again?

    Thanks for quick reply btw :)
     
  4. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    "without wiping" means your phone remains the same. The updates are applied on top of what you have already. So apps, contacts etc will stay.
     
  5. mmusaji

    mmusaji Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    52
    6
    16
    Bugger now im really tempted now.

    From what I've read MCR3.1 is pretty stable, everything works. Right?

    Is it noticeably better than MCR2.x?
     
  6. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    182
    9
    36
    Bangalore
    Yes, it is...
     
  7. G8D

    G8D Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    533
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    I went from 2.2 to 3.1 and tbh it wasn't that much faster..

    But it comes with other features which is nice.
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    From reading some topics over at MoDaCo I got the impression that wiping before upgrading made the boost in speed much more noticable.

    Can't really comment my self though, 3.1 was my first one.
     
  9. mmusaji

    mmusaji Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    52
    6
    16
    Yeah that's the impression I got. I'm just looking at what improvements (other than speed) I would really use and there aren't that many that justify me spending time to do it.

    I do feel a little left behind though... someone please tell me they're still on MCR2.2 or less as well! :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...