1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is my phone really rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roid3, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I am new to rooting and got real excited about rooting my phone and gave it a shot. Yes knowing little I jumped in head first.

    First off I used the one-click-method. It appeared to work so I went looking for things to do with my newly rooted phone only to be let down because no other roms really exist for it.(I started to wish I hadn't been dumb and gotten myself in so deep)

    Now I install z4root and attempted to unroot.
    This app never really worked correctly for me so I was unsure how successful it was.
    After installing the root-check app I was notified that my phone was not rooted yet I am unable to get rid of the SupeUser app I got from my original root.I remember reading that im unable to get rid of it because its existence on my phone and purpose for being locked in has to do with my phone really being rooted.
    I check the update for superuser and it tells me I need to flash my new binary but after attempting to install it with recovery mode it tells me the zip was not successfully opened. Thus not installed.

    Right now I have a fully functioning phone with superuser in place but from what I can tell its not rooted. Can anyone help me understand what the hell I did, and then how to undo it? :thinking:

    Its a droid 3 running 2.3.4
     

    Advertisement

  2. Knitewulf

    Knitewulf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    There's no ROMs for it yet because there nears to be a custom bootloader first. If you installed the OTA from the other thread by chance that unroots the phone. Download titanium backup and when it checks for root if it doesn't find anything your phones not rooted.
     
  3. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I have attempted to run titanium backup and it tells me i dont have root access so its not rooted. Now how do I get rid of the superuser app?
     
  4. Knitewulf

    Knitewulf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Use a file manager and delete the .apk off the phone.
     
  5. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Tried oi file manager, the built in file manager, android assistant, folder organizer and if im able to get to the uninstall screen it starts and quickly tells me uninstall unsuccessful. Ive also tried deleting the apk to no avail. I would be happy with turning the apk to a bak but it wont allow me to rename. Any other ideas?
     
  6. trini.s2k

    trini.s2k Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    111
    2
    36
    try rooting it ona different computer , i had to , cause it didnt work on my laptop i did it on my desktop i dnt know why , it just didnt !
     
  7. Knitewulf

    Knitewulf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    .

    Plug it into your computer and do it that way.
     
  8. bryan847

    bryan847 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    134
    11
    38
    U.S
    I have never heard of z4root working on the droid 3... I am assuming you used Psouza's one-click root on the computer... He now has an updated version that allows you to unroot... Maybe you should try that... also i am not sure if the root checker works on droid 3 yet
     
  9. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I repaired my moto driver on my computer and attempted to root the phone again with the one click method. It recognized the phone unlike it did after my original rooting session and the one click tells me it worked.

    what does busybox have to do with this whole thing?
     
  10. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5

    Please do tell in detail the file path I would need to follow through the memory to find the apk to change/delete it. I havent been able to see the system/bin path to follow.
     
  11. bryan847

    bryan847 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    134
    11
    38
    U.S

    Now that it gave you a good root on the computer use the root checker and see if it is any different
     
  12. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Root Checker asks for root access and does work in checking root for Droid 3.
     
  13. bryan847

    bryan847 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    134
    11
    38
    U.S
    I just ran root checker and it told me I was correctly rooted so it must work
     
  14. Roid3

    Roid3 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Update* After the recent update to my droid os this morning I was made aware that I no longer had root access. I used one click again and all was fixed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...