1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Is non-usage an issue?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sfrewins, Jan 7, 2015.

1. sfrewins

sfrewins Lurker
    None

Jan 7, 2015
    Male
    Hi I'm a newbie, so please be gentle. I bought a Moto G for my son today as a birthday gift, but I didn't realise that it had a non-removable battery. Normally I would just remove the battery and charge the phone the day before I wrap it and give it to him, but now I can't do that.

What is my best option? Do I have to keep the charging the phone until I give it to him? Or could it be left for two months and still charge up ok? Is there another option that is better?

Many thanks for your suggestions

Advertisement

2. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    None

Jun 10, 2010
    New Mexico, USA
    I'd give it a charge every week or so and keep it off.

Letting it sit a while fully depleted isn't always the best for lifetime.

Welcome to the forums!

And btw - pretty nice present! :)

3. sfrewins

sfrewins Lurker
    None

Jan 7, 2015
    Male
    Many thanks for your reply. That's what I would've thought as well. However, I posted my query up on the Motorola Mobility Customer Help site and the reply I got is posted below. Now I'm a bit unsure, what do you think?

Dear Simon ,

Thank you for contacting Motorola.

We would advise you to not charge the phone at all. As we know, it is a lot more fun to get a phone that is charged already when you receive it but it you are worried about the phone, not charging it would be best. However, if you already have charged it or want it to be charged when you gift it then simply charge it to full then turn it off. It will lose about 10% or so of the charge in two months but around 90% is more than enough to use the phone at the start. We hope that your son will like his present.

Kind regards,

Motorola Mobility UK Ltd.

EarlyMon likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member