1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Is PdaNet Going To Work

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gapi, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. gapi

    gapi Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    Just Wondering If PdaNet Going To Work on the Bionic.
     

    Advertisement

  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Wouldn't see why not. But I've been wirelessly tethering for so long, I don't know why anyone would want to use a cable. Just root and install app ... DONE DEAL. :cool:
     
  3. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
  4. rossman26

    rossman26 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    51
    14
    18
    Professional Student
    Pennsyltucky
    All of this is to avoid paying to tether correct? The phone is perfectly capable of tethering on its own as is you just have to pay Verizon for the functionality right?

    My current phone doesn't tether and one of the features I'm looking forward to is the ability to tether.
     
  5. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Right, but that's 20 more dollars a month on their already crazy tiered data plans.
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    If you want tether, than root ... it's just that simple. My OG Droid is running GingerBread and it tethers flawlessly. See the screen-shots I just took from my phone and laptop.

    :cool:


    [​IMG]
     
  7. gapi

    gapi Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,593
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011

    I hear you. I tether with a cable to keep the battery up. I guess I could have it plugged in and go wireless.
    All my tethering is done while mobile, some of the tethering I do is for long periods of time but with minimal data usage rates.
     
  8. rossman26

    rossman26 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    51
    14
    18
    Professional Student
    Pennsyltucky
    I hear ya.. I guess I didn't think of the tiers since I'm unlimited. I see how that could be an issue.

    I think the work arounds are stepping into a very grey area but I don't judge, everyone makes their own path in life and does what works for them. I'll pay for the tethering service and drop my monthly data plan on my iPad so it'll be a wash in the end.
     
  9. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Is your OG running an official OTA?
     
  10. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    378
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    378
    29
    43
    Male
    Computer Geek
    Ohio
    Not if he's running Gingerbread. The latest OTA for OG is 2.2.2, aka FroYo.
     
  11. apdts

    apdts Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    11
    2
    16
    While this is no guarantee, my DX running OTA Gingerbread works flawlessly with PDA Net. I'm hoping the Bionic does as well. I don't use it a lot, but it is invaluable for connecting to work on occasion...
     
  12. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL

    That may work with CM7 and other 2init roms. But no dice on official GB rooted or Blur roms like Shuji, Apex, etc.

    The bionic will need it's own 2init process before wireless tether works.


    Edit: This is because, while you are running "gingerbread" technically. You are based on the Froyo kernel. The Kernal is what prevents you from using tethering. (Something about iptables)
     
  13. TomE

    TomE Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    I don't know in what time frame these posts post, but my previous post stated that I got a Bionic and yes PDANET does work with it. I'm also waiting for a HP 610Q touch screen, All in one" to arrive. The Bionic has a 'MIRROR' feature that allows you to connect, via a HDMI cable (Min config on the phone side), to your computer, which is exactly what you want ie get on the big screen, and with no quilt feelings about trying to beat the "system". In fact with the touch screen, if you can operate from the computer side; (big if?) I feel it may well be better, will let you know. TomE
     

Share This Page

Loading...