1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is proximity sensor hardware or software?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dvdqnoc, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009

    Sep 7, 2009
    341
    0
    35
    Well, I know its software also, but is it hardware too? Because if not, then I was thinking, couldn't HTC just add it later on if they wanted it to?
     

    Advertisement

  2. troyboytn

    troyboytn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    100
    0
    35
    Knoxville
    It is also hardware.
     
  3. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    173
    7
    36
    Yep its hardware. The hero does not have one. Yes it cuts down on your bragging rights in a forum fanboy war however i do not miss having one on this phone. My screen shuts off after 30 seconds and i dont squish the phone up against my face so its a non issue for me.
     
  4. aznsmith

    aznsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    96
    0
    15
    you never have trouble when checking voice mail?
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    I thought it is a location based program? I.e., GPS? Interesting but not something that really separates the two phones. Unless if course you single and a little desperate, lol.

    :)
     
  6. CMank

    CMank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    30
    0
    15
    PVD, RI
    I was definitely a little put off about this as well. My cheek tends to hit random stuff on the screen while listening to voice mail. I have to be careful with this. Phone calls are not a problem because my screen is set to time-out at 60secs. Would be nice if they could add this later on.
     
  7. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    6
    36
    I currently have an LG Voyager from Verizon and will be getting the Hero tomorrow. The Voyager has a feature that as soon as you make a call, the screen locks. There is also a setting to keep the screen unlocked for voicemail and toll free numbers because it assumes you'll need it. Is there an option/app like this for the Hero?
     
  8. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    173
    7
    36
    actually no i have not. Itend to hold the phone slightly away from my ear for some reason so i have not run into this issue. I can see how this would be an issue for alot of people though.
     
  9. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    You can still use standard voice mail, not the visual voice mail, thereby eliminating the cheek presses. Lolz...
     
  10. rldev

    rldev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    131
    5
    36
    I had a lot of problems today due to no proximity sensor. Is there an app that can turn the screen off when there is a phone call?
     
  11. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Change the screen timeout to a more manageable time. Or just slightly change the way you hold the phone.

    The only problems I could see is accidentally hitting the mute, or the speakerphone.
     
  12. K-Rizzle

    K-Rizzle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #321
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    369
    21
    68
    SAHM
    Florida
    I hang up on people all the time. I thought I read that the screen times out after 10 seconds. I have my screen timeout set to 15 seconds, but when I make a call, it doesn't time out until about 50 seconds.

    How can I change this? :(
     
  13. rldev

    rldev Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    131
    5
    36
    I have the same problem as well.
     
  14. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    203
    0
    35
    Honda Parts dept
    BATON ROUGE LA
    I came from an og instinct (although i had an hd for a couple weeks) so the sensor i dont miss. It was kinda nice to have on the HD instinct, but i dont make love to my phone while talking on it :D so it doesnt touch my face lol. i have screen timeout set at 30 sec.
     
  15. tazcollins

    tazcollins Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    176
    7
    36
    Ft. Worth, Tx.
    I installed Proximity Sensor from the Market. There are settings to it and it works great!
     
  16. Biggest Fro

    Biggest Fro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    182
    17
    38
    Search "Proximity Sensor"

    It's in the market.

    It uses the same thing the screen uses to detect brightness (the little dot on the opposite side of the speaker from the LED notification, if that makes sense).

    It works good.

    I only have problems with it when I use it in a dark room, bc then when you remove the screen from your head the screen stays off. But a simple click of the back button takes it away. ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...