1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is removing default browser a risky play?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jlgarr86, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. jlgarr86

    jlgarr86 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012

    Oct 16, 2012
    113
    5
    46
    is it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Nope, as long as you use something else
     
    jlgarr86 likes this.
  3. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Well you can't remove it completely unless you're rooted and remove the .apk file from the ROM before flashing it but as long as you have a replacement you'll be fine.
     
  4. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
     #79
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    3,544
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,544
    824
    343
    Vancouver, Canada
    Why do you need to remove the default browser? Why can't you just set a different browser as the default for opening web pages instead?
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    A rooted user can easily remove it any number of ways. One is before flashing a ROM ad you mentioned. They can also uninstall it using titanium backup or deleting the apk using a file explorer
     
  6. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Very true and the latter is how I do it, just trying to say that you can't unless you're rooted :)

    I was wondering this, does it remove the default browser from the list of defaults if you disable the app?
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If the app isn't there, it won't give you the option to things with it. You should be able to just set a different app as the default if that's what you ultimately want to do though.

    The only real reason the uninstall it would be space restrictions
     
  8. T.M.M.L

    T.M.M.L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    463
    93
    53
    Ohio
    I'm late to the party, but the response to your question is not so cut and dry.

    If you know what your doing, then it's not that big of an issue, although you may lose some features that rely on the default launcher.

    If you delete it without replacing it correctly with a substitute, then your phone probably won't post. You will left with having to restore from a nandriod backup( hopefully you made one before you started deleting stuff) , pushing a launcher to your phone, or re-flashing the ROM.
     
  9. jlgarr86

    jlgarr86 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012

    Oct 16, 2012
    113
    5
    46
    nandroid backups aren't available for my phone :( can't use clockwork...
     
  10. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #202
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    yes you can remove it but it would be ill advised to do so. if you ever factory reset you could end up without a ui
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,867
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,867
    4,565
    1,108
    Male
    I would personally just suggest to set something else to default and just hide the app. Unless you're constricted for space, this should be enough without causing too much trouble.
     
  12. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,768
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,768
    3,732
    653
    Male
    Reno, Nevada
    If you decide to, make sure you back up browser via titanium incase your phone starts to act up.
     
    jlgarr86 likes this.
  13. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,910
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,910
    3,191
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Some alternate browsers need the default browser there in order to work. Maybe try freezing it with Titanium before removing if you are really set on it, but I wouldn't bother with it, it probably doesn't free up much space anyway.
     
    jlgarr86 likes this.
  14. niteNarmor

    niteNarmor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012

    Jun 28, 2012
    804
    242
    93
    Male
    Jacksonville, NC
    I have removed the stock browser on my phone and replaced with Dolphin Browser with no issues what so ever. By removed, I mean uninstalled and removed left over files.
     
    jlgarr86 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...