1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is rooting more error-prone than the instructions would have you believe?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by awilson77584, Jan 5, 2012.

1. awilson77584

awilson77584 Newbie
    None

Sep 17, 2010
    I checked the earlier posts and didn't find a clear answer. I like that pop-up feature. Vbulletin does a great job.

I am a fairly tech savvy person and I know my way around multiple unixes. It appears to me that there are multiple "sure-fire, fool-proof, simple, etc" methods to get root and install new roms. I know that people make mistakes following directions, but it seems that there are a LOT of "rooting didn't take, my radio/bluetooth/camera/sms/etc feature doesn't work" posts.

Are there a lot of obscure or unknown gotchas waiting for new android phone hackers? Is there a repeatable method that works?

I'm planning to use an ICS rom for my Evo when a stable one that supports all of the device's normal features. Should I just keep the stock and wait for a Sprint LTE phone?

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    None

May 13, 2010
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    moved you over to the rooting section.

the rooitng process for gingerbread is quite simple. revolutionary is the program that does everything for you. the hardest part is getting the beta key that is generated to work. after that you just wait for the program to finish and you are rooted.

i would recommend that you read this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html. it has a ton of info that you should know beforehand.

any questions that you have please feel free to ask them.

awilson77584 likes this.
  3. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood

Aug 30, 2011
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN