1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is simultaneous Voice and Data important?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by ChuckFarley, Jan 19, 2011.

?

What do you think?

  1. I need voice and data!

    20.4%
  2. I guess it'd be nice to have.

    45.1%
  3. Who cares? I'll probably never end up using it.

    34.5%
  1. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,515
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,515
    578
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    The debate is about the necessity of a feature of a cell phone, not about the necessity of cell phones, therefore your entire comment is stupid.
     

    Advertisement

  2. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    108
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    Do people really not understand the usefullness of this feature, or are people trying to convince themselves that they don't really need it?

    I've used it twice just recently in legit situations & not just screwing around on my phone.

    1) I was meeting a friend for sushi. He got to our destination first, called me & said that it was closed. I pulled over, did a search for another sushi place nearby while on the phone w/ him, & emailed him the address.

    2) My bro & his fiancee were travelling & got caught in a rogue snow storm. They called me & asked me to look up weather/road conditions where they were. I was able to do that right then, w/o having to call them back.
     
  3. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,527
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,527
    1,755
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I think everyone will agree that the feature is useful but not necessary and shouldn't be a selling point on a phone or provider.
     
  4. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    I agree, it should NOT be a selling point because ALL carriers should have this, which in my humble opinion is a BASIC usage feature.
     
    mrsbelpit and pantlesspenguin like this.
  5. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38
    The debate is about whether it is important (the title of this thread.) People are pointing out the fact that internet on your phone itself is not a necessity but it's nice to have and we paid to have it.

    For those of us who use headsets to talk on the phone, this is almost a must. I always have WiFi on at home just so I can be on the internet while talking to someone.
     
  6. NunyaBidnez

    NunyaBidnez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    244
    26
    43
    Student/Intern
    Los Angeles, CA
    If you want to know what is really a necessity, I can point to Maslow's hierarchy of needs.

    In this discussion we are debating the importance of simultaneous voice and data. For those of us who have it, we know how useful it can be and we know how much we'd miss it if that feature was suddenly gone.

    This is a selling point because it's one more thing to consider when switching carriers.
     
    jroc likes this.
  7. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    im not sure about this, but after talking to someone with way more of a clue then me:

    - it sounds like at and t's system that allows them to do both at the same time is the same system that will be overloaded and causes them to have to data cap.
    - verizon's system cant do both at the same time; but they will be able to handle heavier data loads and not be forced (not saying they wont; though the same source says they wont on smartphones) to data cap.

    add to that the iphone not being only on at and t anymore and things dont look so good for at and t here pretty shortly.
     
  8. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    My first smartphone was on Verizon. Before I had my smartphone I barely used the internet on my regular cell phones.

    I'm used to not having it simultaneously, but I guess it would be nice to have. I know I would take advantage of it. Like playing HR Battle 3D network play and either I miss calls or the game gets cut off. There were times someone called me wanting me to use my internet on my smartphone for driving directions.

    If I was on carriers that could do it I would be taking advantage of it now. Thats also something folks coming from AT&T wanting the iPhone on Verizon right now need to think about.
     
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    A bit OT..but does pertain to the thread. I cannot believe that AT&T made an iPhone commercial selling its simultaneous Voice and data feature. I mean REALLY? If you're an AT&T user, you already KNOW that AT&T has that feature, lol. I guess they just want you to know that *gasp* Verizon doesn't :rolleyes: I guess AT&T needs to sink low so that they can keep their beloved iPhone users.
     
  10. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    Verizon has anti-AT&T commercials, so why can't AT&T have anti-Verizon comercials as well? Sounds like a good marketting strategy to me.
     
  11. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,842
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,842
    2,369
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Or you can just use a computer... lol..
     
  12. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    If your computer is turned off, it may take several minutes to start up. The phone, however, is already on.
     
  13. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,842
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,842
    2,369
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    If your computer takes several minutes to start up you need. A ne:w one. :eek:
     
  14. mrqs

    mrqs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,446
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    why?
    if it gets the job done, why waste money to get a computer that boots up a bit faster?

    anyway, cleaning the os up a bit would likely also help quite a bit
     
  15. sk8wnec

    sk8wnec Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Field Service Engineer
    Westfield, MA
    Yes because while I am on the phone I need to be able to receive technical support documents.
     
  16. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    But I always thought AT&T was the 'better man' as the saying goes. Sinking to Verizon's level is simply low.

    It takes baka-chan 5 minutes to boot up, 4 minutes to finishing doing what she does (running those scripts) when I log in. I hate turning on baka-chan. Stupid laptop :mad:. Prefer my Android phone over laptop if I don't have to do anything schoolwork related. baka-chan=miss. stupid...fitting name for the stupid laptop :rolleyes: I need to factory reset her again :/ *sigh*
     
  17. Aatos.1

    Aatos.1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    498
    116
    88
    West Coast USA
    The answer for me is a resounding YES!

    It's all in how you use your phone.

    For me it's crucial as I travel a lot for work, and use a blue tooth headset.

    I can multi-task, thereby saving myself a lot of time and being much more efficient on the job.

    While on a call I can be returning emails or work on our company intranet etc.

    This is why I use AT&T and have had nothing but great service and call quality from them.

    It was not until the Apple Crybaby's began to complain that AT&T got blamed for having network issues. What most people do not know is there was and is nothing wrong with the AT&T network. All the while iPhones were dropping calls I was enjoying clear conversations on my BlackBerry with no dropped calls.

    The fact is Apple is the very best at marketing and conning the public. That is their true area of expertise. I don't know of a better con man that Steve Jobs.

    The chip that is in an iPhone on AT&T is not completely compatible with the network, this because Apple bought the cheapest sub standard chip for the phone. This is well documented, but kept hidden away. The only reason I know about it is I came across and article. Stupidly I got busy and forgot to capture the link otherwise I would share it with you.

    I am NOT BASHING THE iPhone! I have one myself for my own reasons. But as a phone it's trash. Other than that it has it's purposes.

    I'm currently using a Samsung Captivate with great success. And soon I will have an HTC Inspire which will be in my humble opinion the best Android phone and the very best GSM SMARTPHONE one can presently obtain.

    There is NO Perfect phone, but this comes very close and will suit me just fine.

    Cheers... :)
     
    jroc likes this.
  18. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    If you come across the site again, please post it :)
     
  19. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    This is what I dont understand...and do understand all at the same time.

    How could ppl have 1 phone that drops calls and another doesnt on the SAME network....and blame the network??

    I found out about different phones some years ago. 6 years, 2 phone manufactures on Verizon. In this order: Motorola E815, Samsung u740, Samsung Omnia 1, Droid 1, Droid X.

    The Motorolas could work in areas the Samsung phones couldn't. At work, in the subway tunnels, etc. At one point I thought it was Verizon and was about to switch carriers until i got the Droid 1.

    The experience opened my eyes....
     
  20. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    Well, it hung while installing the latest Windows patches. I'll see if I can revive it later. I may have to just use my phone for a while.
     
  21. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    It is the better man at doing simultaneous voice and data than Verizon. What's wrong with saying that "we" have a feature that our competitor does not?
     
  22. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    9,808
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    9,808
    2,183
    333
    Where the Sakura grows
    Because this was a feature they have ALWAYS had. Why hadn't they promote it until now? Why, because they don't want their iPhone customers to go to Verizon. Kind of like a cheap shot to get their customers to stay...something I imagined Verizon doing. Maybe I was wrong when I regarded AT&T a bit more highly than some of the other carriers.
     
  23. Stuntman

    Stuntman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    3,550
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010

    Nov 18, 2010
    3,550
    831
    353
    Vancouver, Canada
    Definitely the threat of customers moving away from AT&T to Verizon prompted AT&T to promote this feature. Perhaps prior to Verizon getting an iPhone, there wasn't much value in promoting simultaneous voice and data because the reason people choose AT&T was that they had the iPhone. Now, they have to find another reason and it appears that simultaneous voice and data is one good enough to promote.
     
  24. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    It will be a nice feature to have I sometimes forget I can't do it over 3g and have to sometimes call that person back after getting the information. Now this is very rare as most the time I'm on WiFi anyways but I honestly do think it's a great feature. Maybe you'll never use it but if I need to access email documents or find information on the fly while on a call its nice. Also just being on a long hold it's nice to go to ESPN.com or check my facebook to pass the time .

    I think people who leave AT&T for Verizons iphone are going to be disapointed while the service is better with Verizon I think they'll find that the main reason they weren't getting good service wasn't always the network but the hardware . I had AT&T for work a couple years ago and I never had a problem with service on a BlackBerry
     
  25. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    108
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    This commercial ticked me off, because if memory serves me correctly they said AT&T was the ONLY network that can do that. BS. T-Mobile does it as well. I've had this capability since I got my first 3G smartphone nearly 2 years ago.
     

Share This Page

Loading...