1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is the FM radio RDS?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Good Old Bakes, May 31, 2010.

  1. Good Old Bakes

    Good Old Bakes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    92
    10
    18
    I didn't think it was but a guy on another site swears it is. I must admit, I've not had much call to use it but when I've tried it, albeit in a poor signal area, I could never get it to display the station name.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    What does rds mean?
     
  3. sharpey

    sharpey Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Male
    Kent, UK
    Radio Data System - it automatically shows you the station name and some scrolling text info also it will change the station frequency automatically if it starts to get weak, ive tried the radio a couple of times but i havent noticed it being RDS
     
  4. mad

    mad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    Similar XDA thread:
    desire's fm radio - xda-developers

    As far as I see on mine, RDS works but very badly.
    It's very long to display, it doesn't display the name all the time, it also seems to need a perfect signal and work only on very few French stations (RTL2, Pluriel)
     
  5. fortexg

    fortexg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi, new to Android world...
    First Android/Desire impression: still needs a lot of work to be great, really useful & stable - Handspring/Palm Treo history repeating (gone through Treos 180/270/600/650/680 with all their issues...)

    I agree with mad - RDS works, but very badly.

    - Only RDS PI (station name) seems to be implemented, there is no other RDS functions (like in car stereos) - EON, AF, TA/TP, PTY,...
    - signal needs to be at least 5/7 for PI to work
    - works better after turning the radio off/on, then stops again when tuning to another station

    Other issues with FM radio application:
    - hang on my Desire - phone did not even shutdown; had to remove battery (I know, I need a task killer...)
    - stereo/mono switch does nothing even on 7/7 signal strength (always just mono)
    - no preset +/- buttons on phone interface (only scan+/-)
    - the original headphone buttons should double as volume control (as on ipod shuffle)
     
  6. Scary

    Scary Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Interesting, I tried out the radio on mine today for the first time (I went up a big hill overlooking London so I could get a decent reception and auto scan) and was surprised that one of the presets filled in it's name automatically. It was 'BBC Londn' so I assumed it was RDS because of the 9 character version.

    A preset up/down would be nice as would the ability to reorder them. Also it switches the radio off when the camera comes on for some reason
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...