• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Is the Incredible 2 dead?

jmb275

Sep 26, 2011
I've had my Incredible 2 since June 2011. I really hoped to get at least 2 years out of it...but it looks like it is not to be.

I rooted early on and enjoyed CM 7...at least until ICS and later JB came out at which point developers upgraded their apps making them incompatible with GB (thanks a lot). Since one of my most important apps wasn't working anymore, I took the plunge with CM9 (one of Aerovan's builds). I've been using that as my DD for a couple months now...but it really doesn't work very well. It's very laggy, camera sucks, reboots randomly, and many apps don't work reliably.

So here I am. I have a 1.5 year old phone that really doesn't work. No official ICS or JB, and custom ROMs are mostly broken (as near as I can tell), and my apps don't work on the old GB builds.

What is anyone doing with their Incredible 2 at this point? Has anyone found an ICS or JB build that actually works reliably as a DD? Or do you just run GB and accept that many apps just won't work properly?

I have been running Miui on my phone since forever, the Gingerbread version because I could never get any ICS rom to work on it with any stability.

However just yesterday i finally took the plunge again with the unofficial Miui ICS rom. I am so thrilled! It's like having a new phone. Everything is smooth as silk. There are a number of roms for the Dinc2 that have current, ongoing development; you can check out their threads on the XDA forums. I don't think CM9 is one of them.

So, to answer your question, Dinc2 is NOT dead! Now I'm going to go play with my "new" phone.

Upvote 0
I have been very happy running good 'ol MIUI 2.3.4 and CM7. What apps don't work? All the ones I want do besides Google Now.