1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is the OTA 2.1 able to be rooted yet

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by takeyouriphoneandshoveit, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. takeyouriphoneandshoveit

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    50
    8
    16
    I had to return my rooted droid eris due to a loose power wire messing with my trackball. On the new eris, I used the official ota update that verizon finally after months of waiting released. I am wondering if this version has been rooted yet. And is it possible to change the dialer without it being rooted. I was able to change the boot screen without it being rooted and wanted to know if I could customize other things also or if the boot screen was the only thing I could customize.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

  3. abn75

    abn75 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    75
    10
    18
    alabama
    also depends on if the ota has the orignal hboot version or the same one as the leaks. the orignal can be rooted, the other cannot
     
  4. Syncopated8th

    Syncopated8th Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Food Demoer
    New ro
    I just got a replacement yesterday (real weird charger port issues). And It just dawned on me that I could possibly root this one. But, how do I figure out if the phone I have is a 2.1 OTA or a leak?
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Power off your phone.

    Hold the volume down key while pressing the power button.

    The screen that appears will have (among a few other things) either 1.49 (bad) or 1.47 (rootable). ;)
     
  6. Syncopated8th

    Syncopated8th Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Food Demoer
    New ro
    Thank you very much...and damn :( tis 1.49
     
  7. takeyouriphoneandshoveit

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    50
    8
    16
    ok i have 1.47. do i have to load PB00IMG.zip again or can i skip straight to loading the rooted rom. I know on android 1.5 I had to load pb00img.zip first. but i want to know for sure when rooting from android 2.1.
     
  8. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    rooting 2.1 and rooting 1.5 = exact same process, follow same directions.
     
  9. Jshizzy

    Jshizzy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    187
    17
    38
    Non rooted here. I am on leak v3. If I download and install the OTA that was floating around on forums, could it change my hboot so I could root? If definitely not, I don't think I would install it due to all the bugs that have been posted.
     
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,242
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,242
    23,427
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Nah, if you've installed the v3 leak, you're already where the OTA would take you (they are identical). Your HBOOT would not change :(.
     
  11. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas

Share This Page

Loading...