1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is there 100% working 2.2 rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eddietse91, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. eddietse91

    eddietse91 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    243
    3
    36
    Hello all, Is there fully 100% working 2.2 rom? I want to flash my phone to 2.2 but some has like camcorder problems,
    Also, if I install a different rom, then my current rom gets overwrite right?
    I've made a backup of it before i've installed anything, but I've installed JIT after the backup,
    How do I backup this rom now so I can have 2 backups?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BingoRingo

    BingoRingo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    399
    54
    53
    Aylmer, Quebec
    You need to root your phone and install xRecovery (which requires BusyBox) to install a custom ROM. Make a backup using xRecovery so you can return to your current state within minutes. Installing a new ROM will overwrite your current ROM but will keep the backup in the SD Card, and installing a new ROM (unless you flash a new Sony Ericsson ROM with the FlashTool or with SEUS/PC Companion) will not remove xRecovery and BusyBox.

    There are fully working 2.2 ROMs, this is the one I use but there are many available that I think are this one with more stuff added

    [ROM] FreeX10 | BETA 4 - MAJOR CAMERA FIX | Froyo 2.2.1 | 27/03/2011 | xRecovery - xda-developers

    With xRecovery, you can have as many backups as your SD card will allow, and you can always keep the backup on your computer (make sure you keep one copy on the phone in case you cannot connect with USB).
     
  3. eddietse91

    eddietse91 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    243
    3
    36
    Oh right, thanks :D< but where are the roms saved on my SD so I can back them up to my PC? When the roms are saved, does it save my apps as well? and does it save my desktop settings, like places of widgets etc.. So I do not have to replace them again if I'm using ADW?

    Thanks!:D
     
  4. Smoked

    Smoked Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    247
    18
    38
    None of the 2.2 ROMS are fully working 100% yet. The Camera remains the mystery with the zoom feature.

    I am using Rendeiro's Scamble and I installed Vignette from the Market to handle the zoom and it's an acceptable workaround but still annoying. I'm hopeful the Camera issues will be 100% resolved soon as the developers are doing great work overall.
     
  5. BingoRingo

    BingoRingo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    399
    54
    53
    Aylmer, Quebec

    xRecovery will save your current state (including all apps, preferences, etc.) in this folder:

    /sdcard/xrecovery/backup

    It's in a folder with the date in its name. I don't know if you can change that name so I would advise against doing it until someone else says it's okay.

    BUT READ THIS!!! If you backup all your data (for example your contacts, calendars, AngryBirds, etc.) only in xRecovery you can't import it in your new ROM, you also need to save your specific data with Titanium Backup.
     
  6. eddietse91

    eddietse91 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    243
    3
    36
    Alright, I'm going to go for it :D Hope it's all good :D
    So basically,

    If I don't like it, I just have to restore it.. Then I'll get back to the state my phone is now in right? like all contacts. (Angry birds lol), widgets and desktop stuff, adw stuff ... right?
    So there really isn't harm in trying :D
     
  7. eddietse91

    eddietse91 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    243
    3
    36
    I just installed the 2.2... It took like 2 minutes.... Lol, but it's booting up now, I'm surprised it's that quick to install
     

Share This Page

Loading...