1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is there a 1-click root yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Left Coast DJ, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    I'm an Android noob. And I'd love to root my TBolt, primarily to get rid of the bloatware. But is there a simple root process available or in the pipeline yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK
    The root process IS simple. It's just time-consuming.

    If this is your first time rooting, why not do it this way and actually learn what's going on, instead of just pressing a button?
     
  3. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Not yet but in the pipeline. Maybe another week or so?
     
  4. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    It is kind of scary though.
     
    UCGoody1 likes this.
  5. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    http://androidforums.com/thunderbol...t-your-thunderbolt-but-adb-confusing-you.html

    Full disclosure: Although I know how to use ADB, I'm waiting for Unrevoked to release a 1-click rooting method for stock software that doesn't require downloading almost 1 GB of files, downgrading software, applying expoits, and then upgrading software. For me, it's just not worth the hassle to remove bloat, especially since there are not a lot of custom ROMs/kernels available yet.
     
  6. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    It's really not that bad. I know a lot of people are not comfortable with adb because they see all the different command lines and get intimidated by them; but the hardest part for most is getting adb to see the phone. Once adb sees the phone it's a matter of typing the exact commands or even copying and pasting the commands. I agree with the previous poster, it's not hard it's just time consuming. It's pretty hard to do something catastrophic to your phone. Just my two cents and not trying to force anyone to do something they don't want to.
     
  7. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    That I do agree with. But I like doing things through adb mainly because if something goes wrong down the road I have the confidence to use it if I need it.
     
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    Going to agree with you on that whole thing. I know ADB, used the heck out of it with my OG Droid, so I'm very comfortable with it. However I'm waiting for the easier method. Hopefully one that will not wipe the whole device so I can save the current setup I have with nandroid... :)
     
  9. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    this.....I really want to back up some things then wipe and restart fresh with no bloat
     
  10. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    +1 I'm not familiar with ADB, but I'm pretty sure I could figure this out. I'm trying to hold out for an easier method, but I'm very tempted to try it now and remove all this bloat and sense
     
  11. ridobe

    ridobe Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Your statement pretty much sums my situation.
     
  12. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    As stated above don't be scared of it ...once you get it to recognize in windows (which for some reason on my new pc was like pulling teeth lol) its easy from there ....I have set up and used abd on three machines ...two windows and one linux (linux being the much easier setup for me at least ) but if your not familiar with the command line I see why one would be nervous. The best thing may be to get adb setup then try some simple commands like pushing or deleting files in your device like apps and such ....there are also reboot commands ...try these out to get a feel for adb and boost confidence ...you can google adb commands and find many ....good luck!
     
    scotty85, Papadroid and ska.t73 like this.
  13. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    ^^^ Great advice!
     
    gmenfan83 likes this.
  14. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Then can we assume it won't be too difficult for XDA or other(s) to comprise a 1-click solution that automates this process?

    For the most part, I'm loving my T-Bolt, but there are some oddities that are annoying me that I'd love to get rid of by rooting.
     
  15. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    I haven't used a command line since Apple II back in school (lulz). Though I'm not afraid to figure it out, I too would rather wait for a point and clicky root. Besides, if a command line root exists, someone smart should be able to write a script to automate it.
     
    McLabia likes this.
  16. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    I think you would still need adb at this point even with a script.
     
  17. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    Unfortunately, no.

    The current root method requires a little more than simply running ADB commands. You need almost 1 GB of files (2 RUUs and .zip file with the exploits). You still have to move those RUUs to your SD card and flash them. Although an ADB command can reboot your phone, it can't press volume up to OK the flash. ;) The current method also requires downloading an RUU than the exploits work on. Unfortunately, these exploits don't worked on the shipped RUU.

    BTW, someone on XDA made an automated process for using this root method but jcase wouldn't let him release it.

    A true 1-click method for rooting the shipped RUU is going to require the Devs to find some other way to crack the shipped, signed bootloader (and maybe other files, I'm no developer).

    It took several months to get a 1-click root for the Incredible's shipped firmware from Unrevoked. The TB is more locked down so I expect it might take more than a week or two.

    In the mean time, I plan on enjoying my TB with the shipped software. :D
     
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    pretty much sums it up for me,to. im thinking i will put my eris back to stock and become a lil more comfortable with ADB on it... then if no easier root methods exist ill give this a shot.

    i read thru the "1 click root app" thread over on xda:
    One click root and s-off????? - xda-developers

    im a little confused if the "easy root" mentioned there and above is being withheld because its not 100% safe,or simply because some of the developers just simply dont want to release it because they want users to learn ADB.

    if its the former im fine with that. dont release it if its got potential issues.... people can learn ADB or suck it up and wait. if its the latter,i have other thots on that. :(
     
  19. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I actually posted a comment in jcases thread on xda about this and never got a response. I, too, was uncertain why if an "easy root and s-off" was made why the release isn't going public. I'm not sure if it's jcase believes it's not safe or what, but I just wanted an answer. I'm sure there's a good reason, though.
     
  20. cica322

    cica322 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    If I do end up rooting the old fashioned way, will one-click unroot still be an option for me, or will one-click not be able to unroot because I didn't use that program to root it?

    Also, is the rooted rom identical to the stock rom with sense ui and bloatware, or was it trimmed down?

    Thanks,
    -Tom
     
  21. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Don't know the answer to your first question, but it's a good one and I'd like to know the answer as well.

    The rooted ROM still has sense and the only thing different is it's newer firmware than what the stock thunderbolts shipped with (you won't even notice a difference) and all the bloat has been stripped, ie: rock band, amazon, city id, etc.
     
  22. Stevessvt

    Stevessvt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    338
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    338
    38
    43
    What is there to do if something goes horribly wrong? Coming from Droid x you could always sbf back to stock, what can be done to go back to totally stock if needed?
     
  23. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    i dont think the "easy root" was totally legit. i mean it might have worked for some things but not completely.
     
  24. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    Once the current RUU gets released it will be a simple flash to restore the phone to default.
     
  25. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Not so. It's completely stock, you will need to remove the bloat yourself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...