1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there a way of Sprint knowing if i'm tethering?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cacaman, Jan 18, 2010.

  1. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    If they find out what would the implications be?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Swizz

    Swizz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008

    Nov 10, 2008
    730
    95
    78
    Portland, OR
    I don't believe there is a definitive way of them saying "You're tethering". They can only assume you are by the amount of data you are consuming. As far as repricussions, I would *hope* they would send you some sort of warning, be it a phone call or letter, before proceeding to harsher consequences.
     
  3. khaag27

    khaag27 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    298
    14
    38
    Homemaker
    NorCal
    ya, they just saw your post and their pissed lol jk
     
  4. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    85
    1
    36
    SoCal
    I don't think there is except for the amount of data usage but if one has an unlimited data plan, how could Sprint ding someone? I have read in the past that there is some fine print in Sprint's service agreement that if a user is doing something/using their service to the detriment of the network, Sprint can cancel service. What Sprint considers detrimental to the network is the big question. It could be simply using too much bandwidth in general or too much bandwidth at a particular cell site. I can only guess that if someone is tethered all day long then there could be a problem but someone who uses it sparingly, as in not for hours on end, should be okay.

    People do need to be careful though. Sprint is out to get tetherers. (Yes, I made that word up.)

    http://www.phonenews.com/sprint-to-ban-tethering-on-smartphones-next-year-other-plans-revealed-9444/

    Also, previously discussed here:

    http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc-hero/13307-sprint-plans-banning-tethering-2010-a.html
     
  5. nathanotis

    nathanotis Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #466
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    402
    17
    48
    Denver, CO
    "Unlimited" generally equates to 5gig. I don't think any carrier has a truly unlimited data plan with no cap.
     
  6. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    I got my Sprint bill this week and under data I had over 1 million but I don't remember if it is bytes or kb. Do any of you knows if it is 1GB (which I'm assuming it is) or if I went over my 5GB? I mean, what kind of activity would one need to go over 5GB?
     
  7. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    The bill shows kb. Did you see if you had any additional charges?
     
  8. cacaman

    cacaman Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    61
    7
    36
    No no extra charges.
     
  9. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    Your'e fine then. I do believe, as someone mentioned, that there is a 5GB cap. Not sure how carriers get away with saying it's an "unlimited" plan.
     
  10. Greebe

    Greebe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    5gigs not! Called Sprint CS and asked them the same Q.
    Answer given twice was "no limit w/ an unlimited plan". Also told that I must have got the '5' # from their data only plan which does have a limit.

    Again unlimited plans have no limit and that's a good thing as I'm averaging >6g/m without .tethering or heavy dling
     
  11. iCrash

    iCrash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    New Jersey, USA
    It makes no sense to me to ban tethering on smartphones when their browsers load webpages almost exactly the same as a PC. Granted some flash doesn't work but that is because the browser on the phone sucks, not because they don't want to support it. And anyway the data usage differences are minimal. I would rather them put a cap on my data usage and give me tethering then have unlimited data usage and no tethering. I tether using PDAnet maybe 8 hours a week and all I am doing is browsing webpages and watching the occasional youtube video. This must be because of customers that use their phone as their main source of internet and sit there day in a day out downloading songs off iTunes and using BitTorrent.
     
  12. Greebe

    Greebe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Sprint blocks the ports torrents use
     
  13. iCrash

    iCrash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    New Jersey, USA
    I just tried it out and it worked. Where'd you hear that they block the ports?
     
  14. Greebe

    Greebe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    3gtest

    Decided to check again and the ports are now open. Odd but cool ;)
     
  15. fvkenzz

    fvkenzz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    i was wondering when you tether on the sprint network, do the IP's change? with t-mobile new IPs are generated and if its the same deal on the sprint network.
     
  16. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    The I.P. is the I.P. ... but they will be able to tell that your USAGE has increased.

    If you are tethering and only accessing full regular coded sites as opposed to Mobile versions, your data usage will substantially increase. What's interesting is there IS a data limit in you account, but to my knowledge Sprint has yet to enforce it. The NEW EVO data package also has a limit, we'll see what happens there too once the EVO is rooted and people set it up as WiFi hot spots and data usage jumps there. ;)

    So anyway... No, there really is no way for them to know unless they get INTO your phone.

    :cool:
     
  17. RKMJ

    RKMJ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    30
    5
    16
    Software Engineer
    New York, NY
    I know for sure that on Sprint's "Simply Everything" plan, there is no cap on data. I've been on that plan for 3 years now and have used insane amounts of data, (yes I have been over 5GB) and have been perfectly fine.
     
  18. dsavage

    dsavage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    80
    21
    18
    I don't think they can tell whether or not you're tethered now, and I don't think they really care at this point, either.

    They (like every other carrier and electronic media distributor) are working on ways to ensure that people will be paying for what they use. The trick is figuring out a way to do it without alienating a huge number of your best customers. And, of course, not giving up the bonus revenue from the millions of customers who don't even come close to using the bandwidth required for Sprint to lose money on them. (I have to figure that they clean up on these folks the way rental car companies clean up on people who prepay for the full tank of gas and return it 3/4 full.)

    Tiered pricing & caps, or a cost per unit plans, are coming. Download while you can still afford it. :D
     
  19. mwaugh

    mwaugh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    They could analyse the traffic and see if you are running applications that run on something other then your phone. For example if you use a Web browser it will identify itself in a variety of ways.

    So yes - they certainly could figure out if you are tethering. Would they bother - got me.

    Mat
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...