1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there an app for measuring other networks' signal strength?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by jsp_1983, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    I know there are apps to measure your own mobile network's signal strength, but are there apps that can measure the strength/ quality of other network signals, too?

     

    Advertisement

  2. sohguanh

    sohguanh Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    427
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    I am curious why would you want to know the strength/quality of other mobile network besides the one you are on ?
     
  3. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    Not sure on CDMA phones with no SIM cards, but I'm not sure how are you supposed to know the signal of other networks when your SIM card is tuning your phone's antennae to that of your own network. I dont think that's possible.
     
  4. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    Because I would like to know the quality of other networks' signals. As I seem to get unusually poor signal, I want to discount the phone or the network. As I'm also at the point of contract renewal, I would like to know more about the signal strength of networks I potentially sign up to - I don't want to find out once I'm in to a 24-month contract.

    As my device can detect the presence of other networks (ie, when you manually select the network in Android's settings), I'd have thought it reasonable to then be able to measure the quality of the signals, too. I haven't yet found an app that can do this, though.
     
  5. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    Did you try 'OpenSignal'?

    Harry
     
  6. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    I don't think I've tried it yet - I'll have a look and report back, thanks.
     
  7. Rovers

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011

    Nov 15, 2011
    161
    12
    38
    The free app Wi-Fi Finder has a radarscopelike scanner that displays, a.o. things, all found WiFi hotspots and indicates the strongest.
     
  8. Lenagainster

    Lenagainster Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    27
    5
    36
    Silver Spring, MD
    WiFi Analyzer (free)
     
  9. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    Is it 'OpenSignal' or 'OpenSignalMaps'? I found the latter, but no mention of 'OpenSignal'. In any case, it only shows data for my own network and not others.
     
  10. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    It's 'OpenSignalMaps'. Sorry, but the icon on my screen has shown it shorted ;)

    I didn't tried this with the app but I thought it would show other networks when I switch on it manually.

    Harry
     
  11. smankins

    smankins Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    215
    29
    43
    I don't think he wants to see other wifi networks - he wants to see cell networks.
     
  12. jsp_1983

    jsp_1983 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    123
    0
    35
    Bum
    Blackpool, UK
    Never mind. Thanks for the suggestion - otherwise, it looks quite an informative app!

    Yup - other cell networks, not WiFi.
     
  13. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,803
    1,108
    Male
    It can detect the presence, but I dont think it can detect the strength of the signal since you aren't connected to those networks. Its not like a WiFi antenna which can check which one is the strongest. They use different types of hardware to detect signals.
     
  14. jumpjack

    jumpjack Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Any news after so many years?
    I know by sure that my phone with just one SIM can see ALL operators available around: I can see the full operators list by accessing "manual operator selection" menu!
    Is this information available to apps? Does it need to root the phone?
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    As explained above, the hardware will detect all available networks using supported frequency bands, but can only establish a connection with whatever one the SIM card allows.
     
    Thom and Hadron like this.
  16. jumpjack

    jumpjack Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    Is there need for network registration of the sim to read signal strength of a base tower and its neighbours?
    I tested a dozen of different "base stations mapper/scanner/tracker" apps, all of them show the number of the network operator, but I can't yet figure out if they can also read their strength if they're not from my operator, and if any of them is capable of drawing on a map MY position (not Base Stations positions, which they can't know/find, only download) and signal strength I can "see" when in that position.
     
  17. James Freeman

    James Freeman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016

    Nov 5, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Okay, so years ago Bosch developed a phone that was finally released by Siemens as the "S40". Now this phone may be prehistoric now, but it had a unique feature that I've never seen on any other mobile phone. It measured the strength of the signals of all the networks around you and showed you which network worked best where you were. It was wondeful and I really wish someone would develop a simple modern app like this today. The signal strengths arw measures in db and as far as I am aware there is absolutely no need to log onto a cell signal to measure this signal strength.
     
  18. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Android Expert
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,413
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,413
    2,654
    443
    I'm not sure about the other carriers, but I have seen a TMO map that does tell what service you get - LTE. HSPA+ Edge or whatever by city block area. If the others do have good maps, then those should be more or less common knowledge if they want customers.

    If there are maps for the others, the easiest way to find that, and signal would be to look in a forum for all phones. Howard forums, while contentious, does have all the carriers. All the TMO nuts post all kinds of speed tests, etc. If the other groups for other carriers do the same, and the other carriers have the same type of map, maybe you could find a hint of what you are looking for. You might be able to follow the hint.

    You can read the forum for free.

    Someone here also might know where other carrier customers post that you can also read free.

    Just checked - here's ATT expansion:
    http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php/366-AT-amp-T-Network-Expansion-and-Upgrades

    I'm assuming Verizon has one also.

    Sprint is still CDMA and locked and using its own form of LTE
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    My go-to site for network coverage is Rootmetrics. No carrier/network assumptions, only real-world results.
     
    quanticchaos likes this.
  20. CenturionB

    CenturionB Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016

    Feb 14, 2016
    234
    30
    63
    Male

Share This Page

Loading...