1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there an app that takes a screenshot of my phone?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Jeff, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. Jeff

    Jeff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008

    Dec 23, 2008
    11
    15
    18
    Hi.. I am looking for an app that will take a screenshot of what's currently on my screen. Or maybe somebody knows a better way for me to capture a screenshot from the phone.

    Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    There is a good app.. however your phone must be rooted !!
     
  3. NiNi

    NiNi G1/Cliq Guide
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    126
    4
    56
    Florida
    the app is called Screenshot you can find it in the market! works like a charm, or you can take screenshots with your computer using the SDK
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008

    Dec 23, 2008
    11
    15
    18

    Awesome! Will I need to do anything special with my phone? The guy above you said my phone has to be rooted, do I need to this? Any thoughts or tips would be appreciated.
     
  5. itsmoirob

    itsmoirob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009

    The screenshot app you will need you're phone rooted.

    The second option mentioned I think is this method. Only problem is you'll need to be next to a computer to take screenshots.
    It takes a few minutes to set up but looks simple to take screenshots once it's all set up and you've take that first one.
    The instructions are here
    How to take screenshots of your Android based phone from Windows - Simple Help

    (Personally I've not tried the second option, as my phone doesn't arrive until tomorrow. I'm sure it'll be a priority for me though. Shame that there isn't any good none rooted screenshot apps on the market yet. Hope that changes soon)
     
  6. Clackamas

    Clackamas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009

    Jul 15, 2009
    80
    2
    16
    dxTop supports making screen shots.
     
  7. A.C.Sanchez

    A.C.Sanchez Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    23
    2
    16
    Yes it does. I wonder why no one has designed an app around their methodology, as it would be a huge hit on the Droid (until someone smarter than I figures out root).
     
  8. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,030
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    1,030
    53
    128
    I have dxtop just for screenshots
     
  9. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #614
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    120
    16
    38
    Female
    Retired
    Bluegrass State
    How do you know if your phone is rooted or not?
     
  10. Howie

    Howie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,412
    71
    148
    IT
    Central NY
    If you do not know, it is NOT rooted. It is something special you must do to your device. It doesn't come that way or just "happen" :)
     
  11. mtraina7

    mtraina7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    32
    1
    16
    Do you have to root the phone if using dxTop as well?
     
  12. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
    No

    All of these have built in image capturing capabilities for the home

    dxtop
    Home++
    SweeterHome2
     
  13. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    2,186
    292
    163
    Male
    Houston, TX
    I prefer "ShootMe" ... just shake your phone and it takes a snapshot.
     
  14. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Dropcap2 is another good screenshot program but your phone needs to be rooted.
     
  15. graff_king

    graff_king Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    109
    18
    58
    openhome has screenshot app built in, I use that for lack of a camera button on my mytouch fender edition
     

Share This Page

Loading...