1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there an app that will tell me that I am dialing a LD #?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by RobertThompson, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. RobertThompson

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    unemployed
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Hello:

    Is there an app that, after I dial BUT BEFORE CONNECTING, will tell me that I am dialing a Long Distance telephone number?

    Thanks,

    Rob.
     

    Advertisement

  2. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    What is a "long distance number" on a cell phone?
     
  3. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    How would you not know its long distance??? Area codes exist for a reason...
     
  4. namoroman

    namoroman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    100
    8
    36
    Male
    Kwik Trip
    Owatonna, MN
    Is there ANY carrier that makes people pay for "long distance" anymore? I can't remember the last time dialing an out of county or out of state number was an issue for me.
     
  5. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    Maybe in other countries, but he should still realize he dialed an area code other than his own
     
  6. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    It isn't just area code. There are some places in the US where 1) dialing within your own area code may be long distance, and 2) dialing outside your area code may not be.

    It depends on where the number is located (for residential lines).

    The point is you can't just go by area code. However, I'd be shocked if anyone is paying for LD when making calls from a cell phone.
     
  7. RobertThompson

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    unemployed
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Hi:

    Where I live, Montreal Canada, the phone system has been changed use 10 digit dialing only.

    Sometimes a call is long distance and sometimes it is not.

    I pay extra for long distance minutes.

    When I am at home, or anywhere where I can use wifi, I use the 'Google Call Back' app to initiate my call from GV. GV calls me back and connects me. My 'incoming' calls are free so there are no long distance charges. This is fine, if I can use wifi.

    If there is no wifi, I can use my data plan to achieve the same result but I have to pay for data usage. I 'turn off' data on my phone because, if I don't, my data usage goes up whether I want it to or not - I think things get updated or synced or something if I leave 'data on'.

    What I would like to do is use data only when I need it to call GV to initiate a call when there is no wifi.

    I suppose that this could be done by deleting all the other 'data using' apps on my phone but I would like to have them to be used when I need them.

    It is not that I am 'cheap', just unemployed.

    Rob.

    P.S. Apparently, Canada has some of the most expensive cell phone/data plans in the world - Go Canucks!!!
     
  8. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    A couple of options for you:

    1) Use an app to control data so that it's ON only when the screen is on. Then, anytime you are using the phone data is on. I use Tasker to do this, but I believe you can use free apps (like JuiceDefender) to do the same thing.

    2) If you have a rooted phone, you can setup a firewall (like DroidWall) to block data access for certain apps (you can choose to block on mobile, block on wifi, both, or neither). DroidWall also has a widget to turn it off and on easily, so you could block everything except Google Call Back (when on) and then use the widget to unblock other apps.
     
    RobertThompson likes this.
  9. ninja_reject

    ninja_reject Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    536
    83
    98
    I have juice defender set up to only turn data on when I start up an app that is on my list of acceptable apps to use data for. I have juice defender ultimate though, not sure what the free one offers. Your phone problem, I am sorry. Long distance is a moot point here in the states with cell phones.
     
  10. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Yeah, having data on whenever the screen is on isn't an ideal solution. However, for me, it sometimes takes several seconds for the data to make a connection. Also, with Tasker at least, it only works with foreground applications. Therefore, I'm not sure turning data on for the time that Google Call Back is actually open (and in the foreground) is long enough to have it work seemlessly.
     
    RobertThompson likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...