1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there an easy way to check if the phone is locked?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Crafty, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. Crafty

    Crafty Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    345
    69
    63
    I'm with VF, luckily I didn't get the dreaded OTA last week.
    My phone is totally unbranded, so I'm wondering if it will let me install 2.2 manually without the need for a goldcard and all the messing about.

    is there an easy way to check ? I don't want to attempt an install for it to screw up and brick the phone.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. sandozer

    sandozer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    83
    7
    36
    My Desire was locked to T-mobile, I got the unlock code and now it will work with any other network sim.

    So... just try any other sim card, Orange, T-mob... ... etc and it will log on with no complaints if its unlocked.
     
  3. Raggy

    Raggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    65
    3
    16
    Male
    Engineering
    Planet Earth...
    Thats what I thought but mine works with a 3 sim in it but I got the OTA cr@p last week grrrr :mad:
     
  4. sandozer

    sandozer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    83
    7
    36
    That means there must be embedded firmware in the rom, so unlocking only untethers the dedicated network, but leaves the base "rom boot" in the phone. :cool:
     
  5. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK

    Unlocked only means you can use any simcard in the phone. A phone can be unbranded and unlocked but can still have a network ROM installed, therefore the OTA 2.2 update won't work properly - it only works with phones from HTC that has never had a network ROM installed.
     
  6. Raggy

    Raggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    65
    3
    16
    Male
    Engineering
    Planet Earth...
    Mine wasn't unlocked at any point as I got it from VF and always use it on VF, just tried the 3 sim to see if I could get the 2.2 FROYO update lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...