1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Is there anyway around having to choose one default messaging app in lollipop 5.0 ?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Android Question, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. Android Question

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi guys! I'm Rina :p I'm new here, forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong area!

    I have lollipop 5.0, Samsung Note 3, no root, 100% stock. -- As you know, you are forced to choose one- only default messing app, like- Gosms pro, or Textra. --Sms apps like: Viber or whatsup do not apply to this rule and I don't want to use those kinds of apps!

    Is there anyway to get around this forced to choose one default app in 5.0? I remember when I had jellybean, you did not have this problem and it worked just fine and never asked you to choose a default sms app!

    Please let me know a simple way to make this happen (if possible), I'm really new at all this! I am willing to root my note 3 or whatever it takes to make this work!

    I don't understand why google did this, it worked just fine in Jellybean!

    Thank you in advance! :):):):):good:
     

    Advertisement

  2. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,916
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    I don't know of a way round it, but if you install more than one sms app, its quite quick to change the default from one to another in system settings. I agree it was better when you could just open a different app. You can't do this now with Hangouts without the extra step of setting a default, but you can with Textra..and probably others. Which apps are you trying to use?
     
    Maigi likes this.
  3. RinaMoya

    RinaMoya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Female

    Hi Girolez!

    Thats the thing, I don't want to have to switch back and forth at all, no matter how easy it is- the point is I was using a app that hides text messages when I had jellybean, those hidden texts went into a app that you could only see by dialing you secret password in your dial pad and then it would open , it worked great! now that I have 5.o LP, it does not work, you have to have one or the other! got any ideas? :) ...there should be a hack or root for this!!
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,673
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,673
    19,059
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    There are message apps that have a "private" inbox for some conversations (e.g. Evolve SMS I'm pretty sure had this), in which case you could have this with just one app.

    Of course you can still see messages in a non-default app (e.g. the built-in one), so to make this work you might have to lock other SMS apps so you need a PIN to open them (there are apps that can be used for this). I'm not sure because I've never used the private box feature, so it might move messages out of the normal SMS database in which case this wouldn't be an issue, I just don't know for sure so raising this possibility.
     
  5. RinaMoya

    RinaMoya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Female
    Yes I know, Gosms pro is one, but I still want to- not have to choose a default sms app! there must be a root or hack for this, im sure someone knows this !! :-(
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,673
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,673
    19,059
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well you could probably roll it back to KitKat (may require root, I'm not that familiar with Samsung software). That's probably your best bet.
     
  7. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    You have to choose a default app with kitkat as well.

    This is just a way of life for Android now.

    I'm not sure rooting would help unless you install a Jellybean Rom on your device (maybe).
    I can't think of any xposed modules that would do the either.

    I'm sure given a little more time and someone will post a solution to this problem though. [emoji217]
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,673
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,673
    19,059
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Ah heck, I'd forgotten how old this feature was!
     
    MLSS likes this.
  9. RinaMoya

    RinaMoya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Female
    NObody knows this??? :-(
     
  10. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    The answer is that their isn't.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  11. RinaMoya

    RinaMoya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Female
    wow I thought people here where smart! Guess not
     
  12. Dannydet

    Dannydet Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    918
    Posts:
    5,248
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    5,248
    3,394
    918
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    I guess we're no smarter than you. Thank you for the compliment also.
     
  13. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Just because you don't like the answer, doesn't make it wrong........

    Have a great day!
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,673
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,673
    19,059
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Or maybe there isn't a way, or rather not one that's worth the effort involved, given that it hasn't been a huge inconvenience to a lot of people.

    This was a change in the Android OS itself, and I expect it's not something you can change with an app or a config file. Since the base android is open source you could download the source code, locate the relevant piece of code and everything that depends on it and modify it accordingly (it really depends how they've implemented this how many changes would be needed - I've not downloaded the Android source code and analysed it to work this out, as to me it's not worth the time it would take). Then you need to learn how to build the operating system for your particular device, root the device and load your new version of android (which is what we would call an "AOSP custom ROM", i.e. a custom Android build based on the Android Open Source Project). There is actually quite a lot of work involved in doing that, so you need someone who has the skills and the time to do this and who also considers this particular feature to be worth the effort. And they have to do it for your particular model of device.

    If that is what's required (and I very much suspect that's the case) then you also lose any Samsung software features (multi-window, S-Pen, etc) since the Samsung software is closed source and you don't get any of that stuff from the AOSP. I do not know whether Samsung release sufficient source for someone to make these mods to a Samsung ROM/kernel (if you have a model with a Exynos processor that's particularly unlikely).

    Point is, what you are asking for isn't necessarily a trivial thing. Have you tried contacting the developer of the app you want to use, to see whether they've thought about this?
     
    Dannydet and girolez like this.
  15. RinaMoya

    RinaMoya Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016

    Feb 24, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Female
    This is a big thing, cant believe no one knows here, wow!
     
  16. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,243
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,243
    1,485
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    The answer is that you can't unless someone takes a whole lot of time decompiling and recompiling the source code for a particular device.

    It's not that no one knows, it's just that no one has wanted to do it for reasons that are theirs.........

    If you are in such shock about it, go ahead and do it yourself.
     
    Dannydet likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...