1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Is there anyway to determine what ROM is in a Nandroid Backup?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cuban11182, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    385
    98
    53
    US Coast Guard
    Florida
    Is there any way, besides installing the backup to determine what ROM is in it? I have a bunch of backups and would like to know if they are important anymore or not.
     

    Advertisement

  2. dscribe

    dscribe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    818
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    818
    140
    93
    Camden, AR, USA
    Not really, the best thing is to keep a record of your backups when you make them.
     
  3. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    385
    98
    53
    US Coast Guard
    Florida
    Yea I figured that out the hard way. I was restoring my last 3 and decided to rename them with the Rom added to the date that already is placed on the folder. M5 error, so had to pull the card to rename them back. Guess I'll just have to keep a tally.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Yep, that's exactly what I do. Then every so often I offload all but the original and latest backup to a folder on the PC. Also keep a .txt file in there for notes on each.
     
  5. mozetti

    mozetti Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    82
    20
    18
    I use the app Gdocs Notepad to keep a record. It syncs with your Gdocs account by creating a specific folder that it syncs with. So, the nandroid list is available on my phone and backed up online. It just occurred to me that I could upload the backups to Gdocs, too.
     
  6. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    I just created a notepad text doc and store it right in the clockworkmod backups folder. Works great!
     
  7. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    The best way is to rename it as soon as you make it (if possible) I tend to forget sometimes too, but you gotta other wise it's so hard.
     
  8. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    just use ROM Manager and name it before you even start the backup.

    or use root explorer and rename it immediately after you backup.

    all mine are CM09302010 or ID10012010 for CyanogenMod 30th of September 2010 or IncredibleDoes 1st of October 2010.
     
  9. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    385
    98
    53
    US Coast Guard
    Florida
    I named the ones that I had in my Clockwork Backup folder and they failed when I tried to restore saying the M5 Sum didn't match. When I renamed them back to the original names they worked. I'll just have to continue to keep track of what they are. I'm thinking about deleting all the old 2.1 ones since I don't think I will ever use them again (minus the original nandroid when I first rooted).
     
  10. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    I just append something to the end of the generated name and rename it back if I need it.
     
  11. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    385
    98
    53
    US Coast Guard
    Florida
    Yea thats what I did. I'm just not to familiar with if I am able to rename it via Recovery. I was able to put it into the computer, but if I am not around one then I'm screwed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...