1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root is there root for this phone yet ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kwiknuts, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    just wondering as it seems like a great deal coming Aug 1 to MetroPCS.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Its a little early to be asking about root considering the phone hasn't been released yet. Honestly I'm not entirely certain it will ever get root. I say this because it comes with android 6.0.1 which (according to what ive read) can't be rooted without an unlocked bootloader. From what I understand, achieving root on android 6.0 is nearly impossible without a custom recovery like TWRP. If they give us an unlocked bootloader and a way to access it so we can flash firmwares, kernels, and recoveries then there is a good chance we can get root. Without an unlocked bootloader and a way to access it I'm afraid the odds aren't so good though.
     
  3. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You realize that method is a good 3 years old and the exploit used in that method doesn't work anymore?
     
    Spec2nirvash likes this.
  4. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Rooting marshmallow is a whole different ball game. As far as I know, there is no way to root marshmallow without a custom recovery. This means that in order to root the zmax pro, you will most likely need [a] an unlocked bootloader, a custom recovery, and [c] a way to install that custom recovery without already having root. This means that we will need some sort of PC based tool(like fastboot which is used by Nexus devices, or odin which is used by Samsung) that allows flashing firmware and partition images via usb while the phone is booted into the bootloader.

    The procedure would require you to unlock and reboot into the bootloader, connect the phone to a PC, and then use the PC to flash a custom recovery which would already need to be built for the phone. Then you would reboot into recovery and flash SuperSU 2.76 via recovery zip.

    This is dependent on 2 things without which, root cannot be achieved. We need to be able to unlock the bootloader if it is not already unlocked, and 2nd we need the ability to access the bootloader along with whatever firmware flashing tool is needed.

    Without all of this the odds of the zmax pro ever getting root are slim to none.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  5. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I'm sorry to rain on the parade so to speak but I don't want a bunch of people to run out and get this phone expecting to have root quickly because it might take a long time to get the zmax pro rooted and it's also possible that the phone will never have root. If you want it by all means get it but be prepared for that possibility. Don't fill yourself with false hope because you'll be setting yourself up for a big disappointment.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  6. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I hear you, and I hope it gets root and twrp quickly since I'll probably be getting one the first day, but I want people to be prepared to wait if necessary, as I will be. Honestly, the zmax pro will probably just be something to hold me over until I can save up enough money to get a Nexus 6 or 6p.
     
  7. VerbosE

    VerbosE Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016

    Jul 29, 2016
    4
    6
    16
    Male
    You're right about it being a great phone. I've noticed it sometimes lags at awkward times like trying to close the Facebook chat bubble. It lags for a second but that's the only glitch I can see so far other than that this thing rocks!!! in order to root this device, you will have to disable the system right protection using CMD. After that rooting it should be a breeze.
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I wish that was the case but unfortunately it just is not that simple. The problem is that Android 6.0 and higher requires the boot image or kernel to be modified in order for root to work. This makes it impossible to have root without an unlocked bootloader and nearly impossible to get root without already having a custom recovery like twrp installed. Unless zte gives us a way to flash firmwares and partition images via USB with a computer, we almost certainly will not ever get the zmax pro rooted.
    Let's say that we aren't able to reboot the device into bootloader mode and flash a custom recovery. If that is the case, we can't get root without having a custom recovery installed, and we can't install a custom recovery without root. See the problem here?
     
  9. HallOfPromise

    HallOfPromise Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    213
    48
    43
    Sonoma County, CA
    I will be checking for updates about root. I'm very interesting in getting the Zmax Pro, but I also can't live without root. I've become extremely depended on it, especially with removing ads. I thought about getting the phone anyway, with it being $99 and all, but I will hold off until root is achieved. Crossing my fingers it's possible and rooting for you guys! (Pun intended.)
     
  10. jay16509

    jay16509 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016

    Jul 10, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    Has anyone tried kingroot? I'm trying it right now, and will let you guys know. It took like 10 attempts on the ZTE Zmax from a few years ago.
     
  11. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    I have tried it several times with no luck and I doubt it will work, but KingRoot supports many devices and if we want support from KingRoot we need a lot of people trying to root with it and submitting research requests when it fails. The more people try to use KingRoot on the zmax pro the better the chances of kingroot eventually working.
     
    dubdiablo77 and 5318008 like this.
  12. 5318008

    5318008 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Not sure if this info helps but in the dev options menu it's got the OEM unlocking option available to allow bootloader unlocking.
     
  13. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Yeah that's definitely a necessity. Beginning with marshmallow you can't have root without a unlocked bootloader because you have to modify the boot.img in order for root to work.

    I've been concentrating on trying to find a way to flash a custom recovery using DFU (or download) mode. You get the phone into this mode by shutting the phone off and connecting it to a PC while holding the volume up and volume down buttons.

    I don't recommend anybody try this with the zmax pro at this time because we don't have anything to flash that is compatible with the Pro. Because of this, if you find something that works it'll screw up your phone. I've been trying this with my old zmax because we already have all the firmware images needed thanks to myself and others, and because I believe download mode on the original zmax should use the same protocol as the download mode on the Pro.
     
    5318008 likes this.
  14. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I see we're early in the game but I'm glad you're already poking around the day after the launch.

    I bought this despite knowing ZTE has a track record of being difficult to root. I think part of the problem is zte is very under the radar. They generally don't have a big hit that gets people to flock to their devices but for the price this is the best phone metro has currently.

    Yes on paper the s7 is better but it's also like 550 more and imo the difference isn't 550 worth lol
     
    Masterchief87 and 5318008 like this.
  15. Chrisr407

    Chrisr407 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014

    Oct 12, 2014
    43
    8
    26
    Male
    Merritt Island, Florida
    How the hell did u get into the Dev options because tapping on the build doesn't work for me.
     
  16. HallOfPromise

    HallOfPromise Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    213
    48
    43
    Sonoma County, CA
    Hopefully toggling it off actually does something. There are some phones that have the option to unlock it, but actually doesn't do anything.
     
  17. 5318008

    5318008 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Can't remember for sure but I think you have to tap the build number repeatedly until it says they're enabled.
     
  18. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    You have to tap the build number seven times to enable developer options. Also, the bootloader on the first zmax was never really locked it just had system write protection which isn't the same thing. The zmax pro is probably the same in that regard. ZTE typically does use system write protection but what they usually don't do is lock their bootloaders. A bootloader that is actually locked will cause the phone not to function if you install a custom recovery or a custom ROM/kernel.
    A locked bootloader checks to make sure that the boot and recovery images have the manufacturer's digital signature before it allows the recovery or the ROM to boot. Anything is possible but I doubt that is the case with this phone.
     
    5318008 likes this.
  19. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Clicking the OEM unlock box in developer options doesn't unlock the bootloader.

    If you do unlock the bootloader you'd lose everything and start over. Once the bootloader is unlocked you tick that box in dev options
     
  20. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,257
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Not correct. I had a Stylo, and on the Stylo the bootloader is unlocked the moment you tick that switch(without erasing your data), and as soon as you turn it off the bootloader is locked again. I know because I accidentally turned it off when I had twrp installed and it soft bricked the phone requiring me to flash the stock firmware.

    With nexus devices however, that option only allows the bootloader to be unlocked but does not actually unlock it. With a nexus device you have to enable OEM unlocking in development options then reboot into the bootloader and unlock it with fastboot, which does factory reset the device in the process.

    To sum it all up in one sentence, what the OEM unlock option in developer options does or doesn't do is all up to the developers who make the device's firmware.
     
    5318008 likes this.
  21. ZMAX4EVER

    ZMAX4EVER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    198
    131
    88
    Male
    This is exciting :) I remember watching the rooting process for the original ZMAX. Lots of people said it couldn't be done. They were proven wrong!

    Wishing everyone involved the very best!
     
    dubdiablo77 and mussio like this.
  22. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,781
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,781
    743
    233
    MA
    I can't believe somebody actually uttered kingroot here lol.... Yeah it works where some fail, but are you really comfortable with exposing the entire filesystem of your phone to 3/4 of China?

    That Purify app thingy? That's @mikedt 's access to your hidden photo albums :D :D

    And I hope all who use King/o root are smart enough to run the swap script to keep the root and kick the king out. The newest kingroot explodes into different areas of your /system when you attempt to delete it lol... My poor Polaroid tablet.
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...