1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is there such an app? (dialer from phone numbers in a file)?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kolteniuk, May 28, 2011.

  1. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Does anyone know of an app, that, how shall I say it, would tag/select telephone numbers in a document on my phone (Word, text), similar to what Skype does to phone numbers on webpages (highlights them in a special way, so by clicking on one you start a Skype call).

    Instead of transferring manually all my telephone contacts from a Word file I use for a telephone book to the Contacts on my phone I would like to open that document (or convert it into some other format first), click on a number and proceed with dialing. Anyone..?
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,028
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,028
    33,237
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Welcome to the forums.

    If the number follows a recognized URI scheme for phone numbers, you should be able to click on it to dial.
     
  3. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Thank you for a prompt answer Lunatic, but it is still not clear (I am not THAT computer or Android savvy) do understand what I need to do.

    I open my Word document with names and numbers, and then what?
     
  4. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,488
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    4,488
    472
    183
    Student
    Cork City, IMF, EU
    The numbers should be hyperlinked and clickable, and when clicked will bring you to dialler
     
  5. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    That's getting somewhat clearer. Can I do that in the original Word doc or do I have to save it as an .htm file first? I see that Word menu has provision to create hypelink, but somehow it didn't work. What and HOW do I need to do? Thank you
     
  6. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,488
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    4,488
    472
    183
    Student
    Cork City, IMF, EU
    Save it in a HTML file and open it with the browser
     
    kolteniuk likes this.
  7. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Hooray, I saved it as an .htm file and when I brought it to the phone and opened it in HTML Viewer the phone numbers became clickable and opened in the dialer.

    Thanks everybody!

    There still remains the problem of prompt editing, since I make changes in the address file pretty often; it looks that everytime I need to do that I will need to make changes in the original Word file (on the computer) and then save it as .htm, and then send it to the phone. I wish I could keep the Word file on the phone, edit it whenever I need and then dial straight from it, is THAT possible?
     
  8. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    And... my Word on the phone is part of DocumentsToGo I have, so I can edit Doc files right on the phone.
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,028
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,028
    33,237
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I only have the free version of D2G, but it i long press on a phone number, it gives me the option to *go. Does that throw it into a dialer or treat it as a url?
     
  10. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    That question is probably for somebody else; I wouldn't know. I just checked for D2G on the Market and didn't find it. What is it?
     
  11. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,488
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    4,488
    472
    183
    Student
    Cork City, IMF, EU
    its Documents To Go :)
     
  12. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    No, mine is a full version, but when I open a Word document and try to press a number nothing happens if it's a short press; if it's long it gives me a menu for Toggle Keyboard, Go, Find etc.

    I probably need to look for some viewers only that would give me dialability... but then they won't let me edit on the spot...

    Shall I look among Dialers?
     
  13. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,488
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    4,488
    472
    183
    Student
    Cork City, IMF, EU
    I have no idea.. but the HTML solution works right?
     
  14. kolteniuk

    kolteniuk Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Yes it does.
     

Share This Page

Loading...