1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Is this true it helps ur battery last longer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Papoise, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    Changing ur mobile network settings to sprint only not automatic is suppose to help with battery life also anyone noticed this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    Depends on how good your sprint coverage is.
    If it's solid, then yes. You're less likely to be jumping around and switching networks. But 90% of the time you're not going to be holding still in an area where your service is great. Which means you're going to be constantly searching for good Sprint only coverage and draining off your battery even faster.
     
  3. pwabbit

    pwabbit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    502
    60
    78
    I really don't see how. Is your phone jumping to roam even though it has a strong Sprint signal? That setting would be utilized if you got charged big bucks when your phone jumped to roam. The folks over at xda-developers have been trying to find an easy way to force roaming to SAVE battery life. Lets say that the Sprint signal is barely keeping a lock on the phone because the signal is so weak. The phone will turn the power up to the max to reach the tower, thereby draining the battery. If the phone allowed/forced to switch to a roaming tower with full signal, the phone could reduce the power and conserve the battery.
     
  4. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    So basically u all r saying I should leave it on automatic. And another thing is roaming free I am on a family 3000 plan and I hear roaming is free not sure is it free on the simply everything plans????
     
  5. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    Roaming is free, buuuuuuuut, it takes away from your 3000 minutes.
     
  6. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    I dont know if I should change it back to automatic setting anyone know. My battery has been crazy good today I dont know if its this change or if im just imagining it or what lol.
     
  7. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    Does anyone know what I should do about this setting.
     
  8. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    122
    0
    35
    I have my roaming settings on sprint only I don't know why I changed the setting but which setting is better to have on automatic or sprint only.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...