1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Issue: Dismount/disappearing defect in the Included 8GB MicroSD?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Archon810, May 28, 2010.

  1. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    [​IMG]

    Executive Summary:
    Stock SD Cards seem to have issues. Root cause is software based according to HTC.

    Interim Solution:
    1. Download & Install SD Formatter from Home - SD Association onto a PC
    2. Hook up Evo to PC & copy off HTC Sync, which you'll need if you wish to use wired USB tethering.
    3. Use SD Formatter and FULL FORMAT the card.

    Interim Solution #2:
    1. If the above does not work, replace SD card with another. Class 4 or higher SEEMS to be more stable.
     

    Advertisement

    GhostFlame and hopalee like this.
  2. hopalee

    hopalee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    423
    152
    88
    laid off. wah wah wah
    San Antonio, TX
    THANKS Bek, you're the BEST! :D

    [​IMG]
     
  3. MrViZZiATO

    MrViZZiATO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    110
    79
    53
    NYC AKA Gotham City!
    I need a quick answer please.... Is it ok if tomorrow when I get my EVO that I use a different 8gb sd card that I have which is a class 4 instead of the one that comes with the phone??? I ask b/c I thought someone said something to the effect that the 8gb sd card that comes with the phone has the htc sync app on it???


    please someone confirm or help me get an answer so I know what to do!!! I appreciate it very much and HAPPY EVO'S FOR US ALL ENJOY IT WE ALL DESERVE IT!!! [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  4. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    You can use any card you like (above class 4 seems to have no issues with evo) if the card has content on it BACK IT UP format it within evo or full format for good measures using computer....htc sync is downloadable, you DO NOT HAVE TO GET IT ONLY OFF THE SD CARD that comes with eVo.

    HTC Hero - Application Upgrade - HTC Sync 2.0.33
     
    MrViZZiATO likes this.
  5. Misery

    Misery Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    NC
    GhostFlame likes this.
  6. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    Interesting. However it seems to interfere with root? I have not gotten an alert - going to manually check updates now.
     
  7. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    Confirmed that an update is available. Go to settings & system updates to force a check.
     
    hopalee likes this.
  8. Misery

    Misery Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    11
    1
    36
    NC
    Just saw another post in same thread that this was the fix for sd card problem.
    Still trying to decide if I want to root or not.

    Well, leaving to go get my evo! :D
     
  9. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    For the curious, I just applied the update myself. Am going on vacation for a week tomorrow, so I'll root when I return.

    Took maybe 5-7 minutes to complete. The Evo rebooted several times during the process. My SD card mounted without issue afterwards. I'm hoping this solves the issue, and if so, major kudos to HTC for fixing it by launch day!
     
  10. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    217
    47
    53
    Any update regarding the OTA? After you download the update, has anyone tried to duplicate the problem with the original 8gb SD card?
     
  11. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    I'm at work, so don't have the original 8gig card with me - just my replacement 16gig card. And yes, I've hammered my SD card since for about 15 minutes and have not been able to invoke a failure.
     
    Green Eyes and GhostFlame like this.
  12. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    6,170
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6,170
    5,047
    923
    Male
    Database Programmer, Sprint Advocate
    Queens, NY
    When I got the EVo this morning upon the second reboot, the OTA came in and I was so damn excited that I said yes, not knowing that the Root was now gone the way of the Dodo bird. Oh well. I'll rather have the SD card issue fixed than root at this time.

    TS
     
  13. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    If you skim XDA, there are (unconfirmed) reports that you can still root via Toast's method.

    I wouldn't worry about it... they or the Unrevoked team will have it running again within a day or two tops. Just depends on whether they stop to enjoy a beer or two.
     
  14. Green Eyes

    Green Eyes Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5
    2
    6
    Sorry for the dumb question, but what is the root? :thinking:
     
  15. Bek

    Bek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    908
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    908
    485
    133
    Database Developer
    Chicago burbs
    Green Eyes likes this.
  16. esone1ll

    esone1ll Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    464
    105
    88
  17. hopalee

    hopalee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    423
    152
    88
    laid off. wah wah wah
    San Antonio, TX

    Have a GREAT time and congratulations in advance!
    [​IMG]
     
  18. snapbox

    snapbox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    54
    29
    23
    News Media - [I work for NAVTEQ and these are my
    South Florida
    I've installed the OTA update and no problems... put it through some heavy use today so far. Seems as if they found the problem and fixed it!
     
  19. hopalee

    hopalee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    423
    152
    88
    laid off. wah wah wah
    San Antonio, TX
    Hey peeps, if I bought a new SD card (16g) do I need to do this full format? I would, but I have windows 7 and I can't do it on my computer.
     
  20. esone1ll

    esone1ll Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    464
    105
    88
    Did you install the OTA? It should fix the issue either way.
     
  21. hopalee

    hopalee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    423
    152
    88
    laid off. wah wah wah
    San Antonio, TX
    yes, i did, thank you!!!!!
     
  22. Daedalus Fly

    Daedalus Fly Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The update didn't do anything for me. Every time I mount the Evo on my computer, the SD card shows up as unavailable in settings/sd & phone storage. I can still put stuff in the SD folders on my desktop, but the Evo no longer registers the card. I did a quick format with SDFormatter, though the Evo recognized it as damaged and reformatted it again afterward.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...