1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

issue with bootstrap?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bugly, Feb 12, 2011.

1. Bugly

Bugly Android Expert

I am new to this whole process, so bear with me. I am having trouble installing bootstrap. I downloaded the zip file to my SD card, then unzipped it, but it doesn't seem to be working. I am not sure if this is a procedural error on my part (very likely), or if I have a corrupted file, since I did the d/l to my mac and then transferred it to the SD card from there.
    I am rooted, used Z4
    Have rom manager, busybox, Ti backup and all my permissions have been set to me. I don't get it, is there something I haven't tried that is just plain obvious?
    I won't claim to be a pro at this, funny, I can hack the living hell out of a blackberry...

Advertisement

2. colchiro

colchiro Extreme Android User

Just download it (droid x recovery bootstrap) from market.

Bugly likes this.
  3. Bugly

Bugly Android Expert

just tried that, wouldn't install. I might have to delete and try again.
    I'm pretty sure this is something I'm screwing up, I'll try some more. Thanks for the advice.

4. Bugly

Bugly Android Expert

would it possibly be caused by having .340 installed on the device?

5. colchiro

Nearly everyone here has .340 installed. It's the latest android version for the X.

Are you rooted (z4root)?

6. Bugly

Bugly Android Expert

yup, sorry it took so long to respond. I even went through the re-rooting to see if there was an error in root.

7. colchiro

The Mac connection might be a problem.

I wonder if you can download from your phone and save on the sdcard and install from there.

How about opening superuser app and check for updates (under settings)?

8. Bugly

Bugly Android Expert

I thought so myself, and d/l the app with the device instead, still isn't working. might be a software conflict somewhere.

9. colchiro