1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Issue with Yahoo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Renee1228, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Hi, I just traded my Hero for the Moment. I got my Yahoo mail just fine on the Hero, but cannot get it to work on the Moment. Can anyone help me?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sboggus

    sboggus Member
    Rank:
     #1,221
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    55
    5
    16
    Do you have the free yahoo or the small business mail? I have the latter and have it working fine (well as fine as yahoo mail can work). I have heard Yahoo is trying hard to keep the free yahoo from working on cell phones from a Spring employee, and I believe it. I have had issues with it on every cell phone I have had on all platforms for the past several years. I would be happy to try and help.
     
  3. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    scotth501 had a post with settings that i just tested on my disposable yahoo account and they worked.
     
  4. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN

    Thank you very much! I was searching the thread names for yahoo and never would have found that. It worked, but I have to use the same shortcut icon for both email accounts. (I liked having a yahoo icon and a gmail icon, but I guess I lost that when I returned the Hero and SenseUI)

    Would you happen to know the name of the app killer app? My battery is now down to 40%. I saw ppl mention the app but not the actual name of it and I don't know what to search for in the Market.

    Thank you for your help!
     
  5. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    you can have a gmail icon and an email icon. thats what i had. i didn't setup gmail in the email app. i used the gmail app. you might want to check out the battery thread regarding battery usage.

    there are alot of task managers. i've been using terminator.
     
  6. Renee1228

    Renee1228 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    82
    15
    18
    Female
    Minneapolis, MN
    Thanks so much!
     
  7. toiddroid

    toiddroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Hmmmm.... I have tried those settings and it still gives me trouble with both of the yahoo accounts that I have.... Anyone else have any ideas, they worked fine on the Hero before I switched over. I realize that the email clients are different, so they could be representing themselves differently to yahoo as when you switched to wi-fi on the hero, yahoo stopped working with the same error (bad username or password) although they were correct.
     
  8. yourm0m1

    yourm0m1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    i had to login to my yahoo account and change the options in the regional settings to asia....i guess asia yahoo has free pop...then use the settings above.
     
  9. chixdigit

    chixdigit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    52
    4
    16
    Medical Device Sales
    San Antonio, TX
    This is somewhat of a different way to get to your Yahoo email, but I like it better- as it takes me to all of the other info that I have set up on "My Yahoo"..
    I had trouble getting Yahoo email set up under the "email" application on my Moment, so I:
    Opened a new browser.
    Hit Menu, and went to bookmarks, then selected the Yahoo bookmark.
    (you can even set Yahoo as your default homepage if you want to- I prefer to keep mine at CNN)
    Once at the Yahoo site, I just signed in, (select the "keep me signed in" option) and it takes me to "My Yahoo", where I can select email if I wish- or anything else..
    When I'm done checking my Yahoo email, I just hit the Home screen.
    The next time I open a browser, I am still signed in, and most of the time it's still right there in my inbox.
    Basically, you're going to your Yahoo email through a browser, instead of through the email app.
    Works great for me.
    BUT, I'd like anyone else's feedback about this way.. It doesn't seem to be too common, or recommended by anyone else, so I'm wondering if there are any drawbacks to this way..
    Hope this helped..
     
  10. trick202

    trick202 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    949
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    949
    49
    88
    Designer
    UK
    That's how I was using mine, the only drawback is that it doesn't alert you of new mail.

    Now, I just went into ymail, settings, then forwarding, and forward the lot to my gmail account.

    voila - or whala as someone on this forum once wrote. ;)
     
  11. chixdigit

    chixdigit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    52
    4
    16
    Medical Device Sales
    San Antonio, TX
    MUCH THANKS and credit to ScottH501 and LincKrakr for this fix..
    I just tried it, and it worked for me!
    **************
    I dont have a yahoo plus account and got it to work using these settings.

    Go to manual setup > IMAP account and change to these settings....

    INCOMING
    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 143
    security type - TLS (if available)

    OUTGOING
    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 25
    security type - TLS (if available)
    * check Require sign-in
    *************

    Now, under my "email" application, I have my gmail account and my Yahoo email account too.
    This way, I don't have to go to my Yahoo email via a browser, and as trick202 mentioned, I will get notified on my phone when any new emails come in on my Yahoo (my primary email account.

    Another "bug" on this otherwise awesome phone fixed!!!
     
  12. azdiver

    azdiver Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    Unfortunately that didn't work with my phone... even set the country to asia and tried again.. still no luck :(
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...