1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Issues Flashing New ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigshotproducer, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    Hey all, just rooted my buds OG Droid. He got ROM manager, and went to flash liquid gingerbread, but once he booted into recovery and tried to apply the zip -- he got the triangle with the "!". Rebooted phone and it was back to normal....any ideas?

    TIA!
     

    Advertisement

  2. istolvampire

    istolvampire Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    503
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    503
    35
    68
    sounds like you don't have a custom recovery installed
     
  3. 2l84u

    2l84u Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I don't have the backup/restore after holding down the x key. Does this mean I am missing something?
     
  4. 2l84u

    2l84u Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011

    Feb 12, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    In ROM manager premium, I'm unable to fix permissions. Droid 1 is rooted and getting an error about not having the privileges to run commands. Not sure why:thinking:
     
  5. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    is the superuser app still there? what method did you use to root?

    the stock rom will repalce cloclwork with the stock recovery on reboot. while youre still on a stock rom,you will have to flash clockwork EVERY time you want to boot into recovery.

    in rom manager,go to settings andmake sure "erase recovery" is checked. flash the alternate recovery. then flash clockwork recovery again. if you still have root access and that works,you should be able to boot into recovery,make a backup,and flash the rom. while on a custom rom you wont have the triangle issue :)

    the other possibility that comes to mind is that you used z4root,wich sometimes is "temporary". ive read about people having to use it a few times before the root "sticks".
     
  6. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    2l84u is the buddy I helped. We used Super1Click -- Z4 would work.
     
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    i used super 1 click also... no issues for me.
     
  8. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    473
    25
    63
    Television Producer
    Virginia Beach
    I'm not quite sure what we did, but after restoring the nandroid, and re-updating Rom MGR, we got everything to work...thanks all!
     

Share This Page

Loading...