1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Issues in bootloader mode

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Biaviian, Dec 3, 2014.

  1. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    So I got a new phone via a return of a defective phone. The new phone will not recognize the "USB Data Cable" in fastboot mode. It will recognize that it is charging but not that it is connected to a computer. The "old" N6 will connect using the same USB cable and port, in fastboot mode. One thing I noticed is that I wasn't given the option to approve the connection to my computer on the new phone. I assume this is causing the issue but I am not sure how to force it.

    Any ideas? Does that even make sense?

    Oh, yes, I can connect to the computer with the phone in running mode and access the SD partition. Also USB debugging is enabled.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    OK so I figured it out. Even though I already used this computer to unlock my other N6 I had to re-install the driver manually and then all was good.
     
  3. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    And now I'm in a bootloop. I can't win with this N6. On the upside, the speaker is amazing!!!
     
  4. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    Holy cow that was crazy. So on a normal boot I was stuck in a boot-loop with the custom recovery image flashing/looping not the typical Android colors. Then I solved that and got a loop of the android colors. Now I am finally booted, stock, and unlocked.
     
  5. halon

    halon hakuna matata
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,402
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    4,402
    1,396
    413
    Boilermaker, Norfolk Southern
    Altoona, Pennsylvania
    Looks like you solved all your problems by yourself! LOL
     
    themediaman likes this.
  6. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,327
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,327
    36,126
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Sometimes all it takes is talking things out ... even with yourself. ;)

    Glad you got it all worked out. :D
     
    mrpnut and scary alien like this.
  7. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    Son of a biscuit butterer. I am in the same bootloop after flashing the stock 5.0.1 image. My N6 hates me. I didn't have any issues with my last three Nexus phones. At least I know how to fix it this time.
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,327
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,327
    36,126
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Did you just flash the system? There is a new radio too and an update to the bootloader.
     
  9. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    No, I went through the entire process manually without using the flash_all script. The issue is how many times I reboot and in which order, throughout the flashing process. I realized that I follow 1 set of instructions then have the issue then following another set and all is good. I deleted the first set.
     
  10. Biaviian

    Biaviian Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012

    Oct 2, 2012
    370
    52
    73
    South Central PA
    This set: http://forum.xda-developers.com/nexus-6/general/guide-flash-factory-images-nexus-6shamu-t2954008

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. fastboot flash bootloader C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/bootloader.img
    3. fastboot reboot-bootloader
    4. fastboot flash radio C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/radio.img
    5. fastboot reboot-bootloader
    6. fastboot flash system C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/system.img
    7. fastboot flash userdata C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/userdata.img
    8. (Note: this command will wipe your device (including /sdcard), EVEN if your bootloader is already unlocked.)
    9.  
    10. fastboot flash boot C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/boot.img
    11. fastboot flash recovery C:/image-shamu-XXXXXX/recovery.img
    12. fastboot erase cache
    Causes me issues.

    This set: http://androidforums.com/threads/guide-how-to-flash-a-nexus-factory-image-manually.706533/

    works like a charm.
     
  11. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    I had the same issue - just needed "fastboot flash cache cache.img" at the end
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...