1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Issues with Nook Color Freezing up. CM7.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Del1650, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. Del1650

    Del1650 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have the Nook Color running cyanogenmod 7.1 from its internal memory. Just recently its has started locking up, at random times it will freeze up while im using it and it will be stuck on whatever screen im on. Then i will have to hold in the power button to shut it down. I have tried changing performance settings (CPU min/max freq, governer...etc) and hasnt seemed to help, i even tried removing beautiful widget and so far nothing seems to help. Anyone had similar problems or now what this may be? Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Hi Del.

    Which happened first... locking up or messing with cpu settings?

    What did you do before the problem started? (install anything)?

    For starts, lets get the cpu back to conservative governor and min: 300, max 1100 and remove the sdcard.
     
  3. Del1650

    Del1650 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011

    Jul 5, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    The locking up started first, then I changed the cpu settings. Right after it started I did a hard reset/data wipe but it didnt help. I will try what you suggested, thanks!
     
  4. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Battery use is a good indicator of something hogging your cpu.
     
  5. Tiggy626

    Tiggy626 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013

    Jul 1, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    :thinking:
    I am having the same problem, but I haven't changed any cpu settings, so that isn't my problem. I've installed several apps from Google Play, and I'm not sure if the problem occurred before or after I did that.

    I'm using GO launcher - is there an issue with this?

    Thanks for any help you can offer. Let me know if you need more information.

    Tiggy626
     
  6. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Try it without an sdcard.

    Check your battery stats (settings... battery) and see what's using most of your battery... (that app is a likely culprit)

    Switch back to your stock launcher and delete any widgets from it. Your old launcher usually runs in the background.
     
    Tiggy626 likes this.
  7. Tiggy626

    Tiggy626 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013

    Jul 1, 2013
    7
    0
    25

    OK, dumb questions here: When I tap settings "battery" is not one of the options. If I tap "Device Info" then battery, nothing happens. What am I doing wrong now?

    Also, when you say stock launcher, do you mean the original Nook, or the Zeam Launcher? Either way, how do I tell what the widgets are? I didn't add anything to the Zeam Launcher, and I don't know how to find widgets in the original Nook.:thinking::eek::thinking:

    Oh, and I'm also having a problem where it randomly reboots. I don't know if that's related or not.

    I'm trying it without my SD card now, so we'll see if it makes a difference.

    Thanks for the help,
    Tiggy626
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If it's rebooting, that's not good. It's a sign that it's unstable.

    If you don't have battery stats, there's not much you can do about that.

    I'd open any launcher you have (except the one you want to use) and delete all the apps on the desktop you can find. It might be media or news or pictures or weather. You just don't want that running silently in the background.

    Bear in mind you're already using a device that's grossly underpowered so it doesn't take much to slow it down more. I got rid of my NC years ago b/c it was too slow. :D
     
    Tiggy626 and tube517 like this.
  9. Tiggy626

    Tiggy626 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013

    Jul 1, 2013
    7
    0
    25
    I'd love to replace mine, I just can't justify spending the money to get a new tablet until I'm sure this one won't work for me. (Funds are a bit tight)

    Thanks for all the help. I'll try all of your suggestions & hopefully they will enable me to eke a bit more life out of my NC.

    Tiggy626
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Worst case you can often find a Nexus 7 on CraigsList for little over $100. :D
     
    Tiggy626 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...