1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

it just doesn't make sense...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by oOMavrikOo, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    when I hear that the Hero isn't capable of running 2.2 when CM6 is basically just that, right? is CM6 a stripped down version of Froyo or something? why is it we can run Froyo if we root, but can't do it 'out of the box'?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Linoleum

    Linoleum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    Yeah, I feel you. But manufacturers aren't interested in keeping happy customers by supporting their phone for 5+ years, they want you spending 2 bills each year on the latest and greatest phone. Until we move away from a subsidized phone/2 yr subscription model, count on throwing away perfectly good technology... often.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    HTC Sense UI and froyo may not run on our Hero. But my guess is that nfinite and others will have sense/froyo running here soon.

    What CM6 and aosp roms are, are just vanilla froyo right now. But damn, is it good!!!:D
     
  4. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    ha nfinite and a few others have the sense 2.2 port from the htc wildfire pretty damn close to working. As of early october, it was labeled as 85ish percent done. Give it another month and id say there will be a relatively stable version ready to roll
     
  5. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Sounds like he's just too darn busy right now, hopefully soon. Then again, I don't miss the sense ui
     
  6. Thorin10

    Thorin10 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    New mexico

    You know, the Sense UI was pretty cool at first, but after using Cyanogen I wouldn't go back.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...