1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Its come time to part ways

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by tmaxey1, May 31, 2011.

  1. tmaxey1

    tmaxey1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    353
    125
    68
    Well I have to be saying so long to sprint. It just to be too much. 1st taking away the annual upgrades on my family acct. Now I found out if I do upgrade my phone to any smart phone them I have to pay an additional 10 per line for "premium data". Ive had my evo since launch and have not experienced this premium data. In fact my data speeds are either throttled or just embarrassingly slow. I'm talking 200 to 300kbs. Thats not premium to me. They offered to give me back just once the upgrade offer on the primary line. But its just not enough.

    The relationship started out rough when I found out my old htc hero had terrible ring lag. Sprint sets the timer on connection to VM and it cant be changed. Since my phone would take 2 rings to wake up. I had about 10 seconds or less before my caller was in my vm. Sprint had me take my phone to service center where they said my phone was fine and this is normal...not good enough.

    So its time to say goodbye. Its not the money. Its not the yearly upgrade. Its the way it was handled. Its dan hesse getting on tv lying about their unlimited data at 69per month when its 79 premium data. Its the way they say my data isnt capped yet its so slow that it is capped by time.

    Good luck guys. Its just not worth the trouble anymore.
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    268
    55
    53
  3. NOMster

    NOMster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    429
    109
    88
    GA
  4. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
  5. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,194
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,194
    114
    143
    Yea, I was thinking about doing the same thing.
    Data speeds have been sucking for the past month. I dont care about the $10 fee I've been paying that for both my smart phones.

    I do however think they are lying when they say it's only $69.99.
    I get 20% discount on VZ and Sprint so maybe I'll give them a try, but I hear they're just as evil.
     
  6. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    Sprint's "Premium Data" is unlimited but their 3G speeds have been slower than Cricket's throttled speeds (over 1GB) for me. Only 22 more months to go.
     
  7. tmaxey1

    tmaxey1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    353
    125
    68
    The changes sprint have made have not been for the good of the customer. I would rather have capped data than painfully slow data that just drops off for 15-20 minutes at a time. Maybe its the phone I have. But I can't even stream 3 songs in a row from rhapsody on sprint.

    And I dont live in the woods. This is a pretty major area just about 20 minutes from philly.

    Customers of all carriers have really been taking a beating over the last few years. Higher ETFs. Capped data. Premium data charges. Lower subsidies. Its getting a little out of control.
     
  8. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I have had great luck with Sprint personally. Good luck with your next carrier (no sarcasm here).
     
  9. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I hear you guys, but I hate wasting money on more higher priced plans at other carriers. Right now I have no where to go.
     
  10. MissJennell

    MissJennell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    402
    91
    73
    Female
    Manager
    Oregon
    Especially when you would be paying more for data and insurance and then you would still be stuck with only getting an upgrade every 22 months.
     
  11. falconey

    falconey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    647
    410
    123
    Atlanta
    I use audiogalaxy and subsonic to stream music and don't have problems. It may be your device.

    To the OP: Maybe you should go to Sprint's community forums to post something like this so that Sprint could possibly see your complaint. Why would a bunch of random ppl that don't know you care that you are moving to another carrier? No sarcasm, just wondering.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  12. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    Same here.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  13. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    I've been more than satisfied with Sprint since switching from ATT. Better coverage, lower cost, 4g, unlimited data, no charge for cell-cell. I don't upgrade phones in a normal contract cycle. When it's my time, another carrier would have to do better than Sprint for me. Can't do it right now.

    I'm in NJ, not that far from Philly and have no problems unless it's in the woodsy part of NJ. Never had a problem with anything in Bucks County. 4G in metro-Philly is insanely strong and fast.

    Might not have enough towers where you are.
     
    KENNECTED likes this.
  14. viber

    viber Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    522
    178
    93
    USA Army
    Cya.

    Do your research, the grass is not always greener.
     
    KENNECTED likes this.
  15. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    You can get unlimited moble to ANY mobile on AT&T if you have their unlimited texting plan.
     
  16. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    True but total comparable plan to Sprint is 84.99 and that is with 2gigs of data. Extra data is added at 15.00 per 200mb automatically when you go over the 2gigs. Granted 2gigs may be enough for most users but I used over 7gigs last month. I'll keep my unlimited data and stay with Sprint.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  17. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    I hear ya. They are more expensive, for sure. Just wanted to mention it in case it could save someone on here some money. :)

    There is also a way to get unlimited data, but it seems like a hassle to me. You have to get an original iphone, activate it through itunes, get unlimited data on it, then call up at&t and get grandfathered in.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  18. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Hmm I thought they did away with that loophole. You would have to have already had the unlimited plan prior to the change they made in data plans.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  19. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    That's how my sister got unlimited data, what you're talking about. But someone on the AT&T forum told me about the iTunes way. I don't know..it sounds like too much hassle to bother with, for me.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  20. tqlla

    tqlla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    218
    22
    38
    Keep in mind, unlimited data is only valuable to people who need and can use it.

    People who are complaining about 200-300Kbps speeds.... are probably not going to use more than 2GB.

    Its just not a fun experience, waiting and waiting for a page to load. Or waiting 5 minutes for a video to load, only to have it freeze 10 seconds later. It took me an hour to download that gingerbread update over 3G.

    Its not a good experience. Is a good experience worth an extra $5/$10 month?
     
    la sal likes this.
  21. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    Chile, I get around 1 Mbps down regularly with 3G and 5-8.5 Mbps down with 4G. If you use over 5 GB of data on 3G, then you get throttled to 256 Kbps. That's still twice as fast as the max 1x speed. YouTube in HQ streams fine even on 3G. It takes a little bit longer to load than 4G, and there may be some slight buffering here and there, but it works well.

    My question is, where are you going to get Unlimited 4G and 5 AT GB of 3G elsewhere for $79.99 per month? T-Mobile's $79.99 4G HSPA+ is capped at 2 GB per month before you are throttled down to EDGE. AT&T and Verizon are much more expensive, and AT&T chargers overages over 2 GB of use.

    Your only other option is a prepaid or regional carrier. As it stands, Sprint delivers the best value for the money when it comes to data usage.
     
  22. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Like I said I know most users won't use over 2gb. I do however and I have very good 3G speeds and very good 4g speeds. I have a good experience already with Sprint. Also worth asking.... Why did you download over a 100 mb file over 3G? I don't care whose 3G network you are on, that is going to take a long time.
     
  23. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Sprint doesn't throttle. We that pay the 10.00 Premium Fee have no 5gb cap and the ones that do have a 5gb cap (USB modems, etc) get charged .05 per MB (I could be wrong on the cost). I regularly use well over 5gb per month and my speeds stay the same all month long. Now Sprint can/could/have the capabilities to throttle if they wanted to but they don't.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  24. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    ^^
    Agreed.

    I've used well over 5GB's, and even over 10GB's in a month on several occasions via Sprint's 3G, and have never been throttled or charged.
     
  25. FreakyLocz14

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,344
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,344
    76
    148
    USB modems don't get throttled. They just get charged the overages.

    Non-smartphones get throttled.
     

Share This Page

Loading...