1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Itunes playlists into Poweramp

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by dbalch, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. dbalch

    dbalch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    65
    5
    16
    I've been using Doubletwist for a couple of months. I manage my music library out of iTunes. I create playlists there and import them into my Samsung Fascinate through Doubletwist desktop application (slow but effective).

    Anyway, I downloaded Poweramp and plan to buy it, mostly because the equalizer setting create a much better sound than I've heard on other players.

    I can't find my playlists though. Does anyone know a} how to find them or b) how to get my itunes playlists into Poweramp.

    Thanks,
     

    Advertisement

  2. Left Coast DJ

    Left Coast DJ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    339
    50
    73
    Southern California
    I too am interested in how to get iTunes music into PowerAmp! I'm about jump into the Android world, and while getting music into my phone won't be a deal-breaker for me, it'll be a nice perk.

    As as much as I dislike the bloated iTunes (when the heck is Google going to introduce a browser based - LaLa like - music store already?), it's the only music program I have right now on my PC. So it'll be nice to be able to integrate it as seamlessly as possible into my next Android phone (Thunderbolt?).
     
  3. joggy

    joggy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    121
    24
    58
    I don't use Doubletwist but in the Settings for PowerAMP you can select the Music Folders to be scanned. If Doubletwist is sending the iTunes playlist to your device, you should be able to select the folder from that Music Folders setting and it would then show up in PowerAMP.

    If Doubletwist doesn't support sending of those playlist, I know for sure iSyncr does. That's how I get my iTunes playlists over to my device and PowerAMP has no problem recognizing and/or playing those playlists.
     
  4. dbalch

    dbalch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010

    Oct 27, 2010
    65
    5
    16
    Thanks for the help, but I ended up finding them. Poweramp is able to see the playlists I imported, it just took me forever to find them. Then it took me a long time to figure out how to make them shuffle.

    Poweramp really needs to make their interface more intuitive. I'm pretty good with stuff like this usually and I was mystified for over a week just trying to find my playlists and get them to shuffle.
     
  5. Geidroid

    Geidroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011

    Feb 17, 2011
    93
    14
    18
    You should share your info, might be helpful to others
     
  6. wsalopek

    wsalopek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    So tell us, how did you do it?
     
  7. Mattlehat

    Mattlehat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013

    Feb 4, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hi
    I've just found out how to do it.
    In PowerAmp open the settings from the soft key (bottom left)
    Select Folders & Library
    Playlists Import / Export
    Import Systems Library Playlist

    They then show up, although they look quite ugly as they all have 'import' written infront of them, but better than nothing!
     
  8. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    963
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    963
    261
    113
    iSyncr and PowerAmp works for me for getting iTunes playlists in.
     
  9. Wilson Mendez

    Wilson Mendez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015

    Mar 25, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    It didn't work for me. I exported my iTunes playlists and paste them into the muusic folder. Then I tried to import them to poweramp but no list was imported.
     
  10. Wilson Mendez

    Wilson Mendez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015

    Mar 25, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    How you did it?
     
  11. gaaldaco1

    gaaldaco1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015

    Mar 19, 2015
    19
    8
    26
    Male
    This is what I did I go to settings, then music and folders, click on music folders and select the directory that your music is in, after that rescan and they should just show up
     
  12. shoebob

    shoebob Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2016

    Oct 29, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    This method works for me:

    In iTunes, open a playlist then go to FILE > LIBRARY > EXPORT PLAYLIST.

    Select "m3u" as the file type and save.

    COPY the m3u file to your phone. I store it in my root music folder.

    Open Poweramp and RESCAN.

    Your playlists will appear and say "not loaded yet" underneath. Open the playlist and the tracks should then load.

    I assume this works successfully because my music is organised in the same folder structure on both my computer and my phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...