1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I've Brick my (Virgin) Volt LS740P

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by arikelme, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Hey Guys,
    I was trying to update the TWRP version on my Volt and I did a bad move, so now my Volt is corrupted and the only thing that I can boot is the Download mode. (I made it a brick).

    I'm having problems following the procedures with LG FlashTool that I found on your website:

    http://androidforums.com/threads/guide-brick-recovery.893332/
    http://androidforums.com/threads/official-restore-with-dl-mode.853693/

    Every time that I try flashing I get a "Device Model Is different" error. this is what i get. What I'm doing wrong?

    upload_2016-7-7_14-3-36.png upload_2016-7-7_14-3-7.png

    Thank you guys!

     

    Advertisement

  2. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
  3. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male

    Thank you Kwiknuts. Unfortunately my TWRP is not "boot looping" at all. When I' trying to start TWRP it says :
    "S
    ecure booting error"
    "Cause: Boot certification verify"

    and then goes off (no looping). So I have the Status "off" for the Desktop Flasher.

    Thank you again
     
  4. kwiknuts

    kwiknuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014

    Dec 3, 2014
    192
    41
    53
    So use process to get back your TWRP then reinstall ROM ???
     
    arikelme likes this.
  5. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    The desktop flasher says offline and seems my phone isn't being connected to. It also gave me an error when I drop the twrp img into the desktop flasher.
    So I have no "booting loop" and it don't allow me to dowload... :(

    Thanks Kwiknuts
     
  6. spock1104

    spock1104 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    1,038
    905
    223
    How are you booting to TWRP? That it says secure boot error when you try this implies that you can still boot into Android?

    And I apologize for this stupid question, but which country did the phone come from? There's several different models called "Volt" and I want to verify this is a Virgin Mobile USA model and not a European model.
     
    dvdavid888 likes this.
  7. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thanks for the answer Spock1104. My Volt version is the Virgin one, I bought it a year ago, and then I realized that didn't work on canada (GSM stuffs).

    I've installed the TWRP 2.8.5.0, and I tried to update it to the 2.8.7.0 and i screw it. Now when I try to boot TWRP (vol- + power) I get a boot error. Same for the android itself. The only thing that is working is the download mode (Vol+ + usb connect). I tried the Room Flasher but I get "offline" all the time...

    I use this phone for my car. I use it as dashcam and ODB2 reader. Also for music and runtastic. I feel that this phone have still a lot of life remaining...

    thanks!
     
  8. spock1104

    spock1104 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    1,038
    905
    223
    Make sure your config looks like this:
    flashtool.PNG
     
  9. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thank you Spock1104. I verified the configuration, I even moved the files to the same folder as you but I get the same "device model is different" error... It is possible that there is any difference for the "X5" models???? The USB driver seems right too...
    upload_2016-7-11_9-8-28.png

    I have found some files (kernel i guess) on the LG website... I don't know if that could be useful for me.

    http://opensource.lge.com/osSch/list?types=ALL&search=ls740


    Thank you!
     
  10. spock1104

    spock1104 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013

    Jul 9, 2013
    1,038
    905
    223
    no, the source won't be useful for this. I've seen stuff on installing a recovery through download mode, but the tools only run commands and depend on the image already being on the device. Nothing I've found allows an upload. So maybe we can get this to work if we're fortunate. Do you still have the 2.8.5.0 img on the phone, and do you know which folder it's in? or at least the 2.8.7.0 img?
     
    arikelme likes this.
  11. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thanks for the answer.
    Actually, what I did (just before realizing my mistake) was to "install" the 2.8.7.0 img through TWRP. I boot TWRP, then I went to install, then I chose img, and I selected the TWRP 2.8.7.0 img. After rebooting my cell phone, it didn't come back anymore :( I don't know where or how I can check where is the img on the phone.

    thanks again!
     
  12. andMego

    andMego Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #141
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015

    Aug 9, 2015
    604
    159
    133
    Try using a different computer to flash it. That worked for some people
     
  13. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    I've tried on 3 different Virtual machines (W-XP, W-7 and W-8)... I will give it a try with another "hardware"...

    UPDATE: I tried in two differents computers, I still getting the "Device model is different" Error...

    Is there any link to download another .dll versions??

    thank you!
     
    #13 arikelme, Jul 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  14. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    It may make a difference if you've got the correct USB drivers for the phone installed. Otherwise I wonder if the send_command trick in download mode could be used to write a different recovery in... I know it can run root commands but I have no idea what command set is implemented there.

    It is enough to run a script to root the phone, that much I'm certain of because I've done it on like 8 of these phones already :)

    Edit: Doing some of the send_command preparation may also provide some troubleshooting to make sure the diag port is showing up. When I root these on xp, I have to replug the USB once in download mode to make it show up. (And the command response in send_command only ever showed up for me once... so I end up rooting blind but it's just kinda a wait 30 seconds and hold the volume and power buttons until the phone reboots sort of thing)

    Here is a link to the thread that does this stuff: http://forum.xda-developers.com/android/development/guide-root-method-lg-devices-t3049772
     
    #14 Brad N, Jul 15, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016
  15. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,123
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Follow the brick recovery guide pinned at the top of this forum. There is also an accompanying video to help make sure you get through it correctly.
     
  16. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thank for the replies... I didn't success trying those methods... ::(

    I've tried this method. I installed the drivers ( on the link) and i gave it a try. Since I don't have access to the os, the steps 1 to 4 don't work. (when I look for devices with the adb.exe I don't see it :(

    I have access to the send_command trick and I can connect to the right port successfully, but I don't have enough knowledge to know what I have to do specifically to copy the right files. When I boot Download mode I get a "CHARGER_ONS B17" and a ROOTED messages.


    Once I tried the Brad N post, I re-installed the drivers (I was thinking that maybe it forces the version of the cellphone to V3) I tried to download again without success. One thing that I realized that I see on the Flashtools when I was trying to "download" I'm able to see the IMEI and the phone version, but on the video those are blank (it's because the editing of the video or it must not show the model?)
    upload_2016-7-21_12-11-47.png
    what I get on the cell phone after the try is: CHARGER_ONUHS S0.0 AS0 B22 UHS S UD x5 04.4.4 Hrev_10 LS740ZV5


    I'v read the messages on the Guide, and one guy got the same problem as me and it solved it by upgrading his pc from vista to 7. I'm running W7, and I have VMs of XP and W7. I tried on my old pc buddy (with XP) and I got the same result (check the model)


     
  17. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    EDIT EDIT: Fixed the partition numbering again. They're numbered starting at 1 so I was right the first time, except I had mmcblk1p1 written incorrectly as mmcblk1p0)

    If you want to try the send_command way, here's how I would go about it:

    Make a partition on an SD card sized the same as your recovery image (if sizes can't match exactly then make the sd partition slightly larger; you may get an error message when you run the cat command but ignore it). Don't put the recovery on a filesystem in the SD, make an entire partition just contain the data for the recovery.

    boot the phone up to download mode with the sd card in it, and do a command like:

    cat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 > /dev/block/mmcblk0p17

    Assuming you made it the first partition on the removable sd card. Partition 17 on the internal is where the recovery gets put. Copying partition to partition avoids any potential mounting problems.
     
    #17 Brad N, Jul 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2016
  18. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    Just wanted to add another reply to make sure you see my edit above!
     
    arikelme likes this.
  19. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thank you very much Brand N and sorry for the late answer. I had to do a quick travel so I couldn't give a try before... Anyway I was not succeed doing what you advised me. This is what I did


    I've made a backup with TWRP before bricking my phone. It's around 2.7G. I made a 2.9Gb partition on my SD and I made a copy of all the files inside the TWRP backup folder (it says that i have 68Mb free after the copy. This is how the backup files looks like.
    (All the rest of the SD i left it "unpartitioned", so I just have one partition.)

    upload_2016-7-28_8-54-58.png

    Then I've boot my phone in Download mode

    Then, I've run the Send__Command

    Send_Command.exe \\.\COM41 (I left the same port number as for the LG Flashtool process)

    then I did the command that you told me:

    cat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 > /dev/block/mmcblk0p17


    after this, nothing happens.

    upload_2016-7-28_9-24-29.png


    Something that I've realized is that when I connect the phone without the SD there is one "removable disk" of 64Mb that appears. It is empty. There is something that I can do with that??

    upload_2016-7-28_9-30-42.png


    Thank you again!! :)
     
  20. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    How did you prepare your SD partition first? On linux, I would size the partition to ~15MB, then cat the twrp recovery image over that partition. It looks like what you did was copy the recovery files itself in there. That's not what I meant. I mean, put the actual recovery image that you want your phone to boot as a raw image into that partition, so you can slide it straight from there into the phone's recovery partition.

    Also, if the phone is in a recovery mode presenting its internal flash to the computer (you are probably seeing the one FAT16 partition on it - the modem firmware partition), you could use a drive imaging tool to copy a raw disk image over the phone's storage. I made a flash dump once for someone but I think I deleted it. I could do it again if you need it.

    I don't recommend trying that yet, but it is an option.
     
    #20 Brad N, Jul 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
  21. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    Followup: There are definitely problems if that modem partition is empty. Maybe this is a candidate for drive image restore.
     
    arikelme likes this.
  22. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Thank you very much Brad N. I'm currently out of home for work (and I forgot to bring my brick to play with it), so I will try it next week when I will be back.

    I'm running on windows, but I'm Using the mini tool partition wizard, so I can do it the size that I want.

    I see the partition when I try to turn on the phone. I cannot go in recovery without getting an error, but I see that partition. I don't have a flash dump for that, but I will tell you how I'm doing with the TWRP copying image before.

    Thank you again, I really appreciate your help.
     
  23. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    I think if it's presenting that drive to the computer, it is giving access to the whole 8GB - maybe easiest solution is to dump a full image from another phone and slap it back into yours.

    Had another thread on here where it was borked one step further and it wouldn't present the mass storage device. Conclusion was that we don't have the correct software tools to fix that case on these phones (but should be possible, at least for LG). But yours should be doable.
     
    arikelme likes this.
  24. arikelme

    arikelme Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016

    Jul 7, 2016
    20
    3
    16
    Male
    Hello Brad N, I'm back in town again and I've tried copying the twrp img into the phone. I've created a 24Mb partition (on windows this leaves me a bit less than 10Mb of free space, enough for the image). When I do the cat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 > /dev/block/mmcblk0p17 nothing happens (The Send_Command.exe \\.\COM41 works without problem). On the cmd I see the same as when I tried to copy the backup image (nothing after the command). Even the progress bar on the phone don't move. :(

    I guess that I bricked it badly... :spitoutdroid:
     
  25. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    Ok, I've got a bit more experience with download mode now. The way you're trying to do it can be made to work but it's different than what I originally wanted you to do. Let me try to explain.

    A partition can contain a filesystem, or it can contain... something else. When you format a partition on Windows, you're creating a filesystem. I didn't want you to do this.

    So, normally a disk contains partitions, a partition contains a filesystem, and a filesystem contains files. What I wanted you to do was create a partition, without a filesystem, with one file written over the partition, starting at the very first sector of the partition.

    What you tried to do was create a partition with a filesystem, with a file stored somewhere (we don't know where) inside the filesystem.

    But, I found out that if you have a fat32 filesystem in the first partition, download mode seems to mount it automatically. So it turns out the way you were trying to do it can be acceptable. You would have to change the command like:

    cat /storage/external_SD/TWRP-filename.img > /dev/block/mmcblk0p17

    But... we shouldn't be doing any of this stuff. If you see a storage device from the phone when you turn it on, I think something else is happening. I don't think it's running download mode (do you see the "Firmware Update screen and circular arrows and "ROOTED" at the bottom?) If you don't see this stuff, it's not download mode, and trying to cat the recovery image like such won't work. In addition, if the phone's modem partition is showing up and it's empty, more is broken than the recovery.

    I think we need to restore a whole 7.5GB image of the phone. But I think that can be done if it's showing up as a mass storage device. It's easiest to do that in linux, I think, but certain disk imaging tools should be able to do it in Windows as well.

    http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

    I think what I'd like to do first is have you run this, and create an image file of your phone, then let me know the size of it in bytes so I can make sure I have a matching image that is the same size. Note: I can't run that program here so I'm not 100% sure how it works, I can't tell from the screen shot if it actually does what we need or not. Maybe we need to find a different one.

    I'm about to do a test here of whether cloning an image from one phone onto a different phone will actually work and that they didn't have some kind of protection to prevent that from being done (and it doesn't do weird stuff like clone the ESN over, but I doubt this is stored in EMMC). I'll let you know how it goes soon.
     
    #25 Brad N, Aug 15, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
  26. Brad N

    Brad N Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015

    Dec 12, 2015
    80
    16
    38
    Upload is finished. Here's the file:

    http://178.32.216.142/lglogorootedstrippedzv5-stockpartitioning.emmc

    In theory you just write that as a raw image into the phone and reboot it and bam, everything's working. I picked an image that just has the basic LG boot logo (not boost mobile or virgin mobile or sprint branding).

    For a slight extra measure of safety, I'd recommend rebooting the phone by holding the power button for 15 seconds if it lets you do that.
     
    arikelme likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...