1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General I've got a battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Smokey_Barr, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. Smokey_Barr

    Smokey_Barr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    106
    4
    36
    London
    widget, and don't see the point of having the default icon in bar at the top of the screen. Is there anyway to edit what symbols appear in that bar, so I can take it out?
     

    Advertisement

  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,294
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,294
    23,668
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Smokey_Barr,

    If you mean the stock battery icon (or any of the other stock icons) in the status notification bar at the top of the screen, then you'd have to be rooted in order to remove these items (which involves installing a deodexed ROM and theming). You could change them (not what you asked for, though) by rooting and tweaking the framework-res.apk file, but that's a little tricky, too.

    It is a little unfortunate that one cannot replace or remove these items in a stock Android device, but there is hope that this might change when the Ice Cream Sandwich version of Android is released.

    Cheers!
     
    Smokey_Barr likes this.
  3. Merolas

    Merolas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    413
    29
    43
    Male
    IT consultant
    Montreal
    If you use LauncherPro you can simply hide the top bar
     
  4. Smokey_Barr

    Smokey_Barr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    106
    4
    36
    London
    Thanks Alien

    Merolas - I used to use the AWD Launcher a while back, but found it made what is already in incredibly laggy phone, even worse.

    I might give launcher pro a go and see if it's any better.

    Cheers.
     
  5. Merolas

    Merolas Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    413
    29
    43
    Male
    IT consultant
    Montreal
    tried both... adw and launcher and i definitly went for LP... faster and better... right now i'm more in a stock mood....so i keep the default launcher
     
  6. Smokey_Barr

    Smokey_Barr Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    106
    4
    36
    London
    Sorry, just realised you said Launcher Pro and not ADW. I might give it a pop.
     

Share This Page

Loading...