1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root I've got to ask this...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sag7392, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    I'm using Titanium to back up apps/data/system. When I wanted to restore everything, I hit restore app + data + system (after I flashed a stock rooted ROM) and it took forever to restore...so slow, I did it through appbrain. However, after looking at the Titanium's website, it says hit restore (whatever you're trying to restore) and reboot. So are they saying literally hit restore and reboot (no waiting for anything) and everything is done? If so, 1. I feel like a dumbass 2. That's so freaking easy.

    TIA!
     

    Advertisement

  2. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    The reason that it takes forever is because it has to install every backed up app as well as all system data like bluetooth pairings and Wifi profiles. The instructions on the website mean that you should hit restore and after the phone is finished working THEN reboot. So basically you did everything correctly...
     
    sag7392 likes this.
  3. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    Thanks for responding. Coming from the Blackberry world, a O/S swap...even hybrid O/S's took about an hour to complete with most of your data fully restored. I left my phone alone for about 3hrs (I have about 55 apps) it was only at 3%. So I take it, it's safe to say that a restore can take around 5+ hours, depending on how many apps you have? If so, I won't be flashing to many ROM's, lol. There's got to be a faster way.

    Just to restore one app + data (shapewriter) took about an hour.
     
  4. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Yea.. I don't think it should be taking that long. I had the same issue when I was trying to back up all my data, the process seemed to stop at a point and it didn't want to go past that.

    So basically I gave up and just backed up all my new apps and stuff that wasn't already backed up from a previous run. I always selectively restore my apps and info so I don't know exactly how long it should take but definitely not 5 hours...
     
    sag7392 likes this.
  5. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    Okay, I was wondering if it was just me. I found that using appbrain to reinstall the apps and then using Titanium to restore the data was much faster. Not to mention, I got rid of some apps that I don't use.

    One more question...every time I start up Titanium, I get this message saying that I need to check the USB Debugging box. I thought that was used when flashing a ROM. I mean I used it during the UR3 install, but unchecked it after that. So do I need to leave that checked or what?

    TIA!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...