1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root JIT for 2.1 - Haven't seen a thread about this

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Squintz82, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Has anyone else tried JIT (Just In Time compiler) for 2.1 yet? I installed it tonight, and it works great!

    droidsp0t – The Incredible Resource JIT for 2.1 – SPEED up your phone!

    I'm running the stock Sense 2.1 rom with Hydrakernel's #3 Overclocked Undervolted 1.15ghz 25mv Overvolt with Wireless N, and JIT for 2.1.

    Before JIT, I was getting in the low to mid 500's on Quadrant. After installing, I'm getting in the mid 700's. Also, I tested at 11.21 MFLOPS on Linpack. Not bad for the stock rom :D

    **Some have complained that the initial boot takes a LONG time (upwards of 3-5 minutes). Each reboot after this should be normal**

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    TheWhiteBandito likes this.
  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Going to have to try this, I'll leave feedback. Does it just increase Linpack and Quadrant scores or overall device performance?
     
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,507
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    1,507
    885
    213
    Its depressing its so low for 2.1 JIT.
     
  4. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    I can imagine that it's MUCH better with 2.2, but definitely a nice boost than without it :D
     
  5. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    The device feels overall quicker and more responsive. Scrolling through my apps list doesn't seem to lag at all anymore, and it just feels "snappier".
     
  6. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Couldn't get it to work with the 1.15 OCOV kernel... And it says it's for Senseless ROMs? How did you get it to work with the Stock ROM? I got a bootloop.

    EDIT: I just uninstalled and reinstalled JIT, now my phone boots up... time for some Linpack and Quadrant. Don't know why it bootlooped the first time.

    Getting about 10.8 MFLOPS in Linpack and 719 in Quadrant. Keep in mind that I have a ton of apps installed and running in the background. Running stock 2.1 ROM and the 1.15 ocov with wireless N kernel.
     
  7. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Honestly, I did read that the XDA thread mentioned "SenseLess", however this is working flawlessly on my stock rom WITH SENSE and with Hyrdakernel #3.
     
  8. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Yup, just edited my previous post and now all is working. Good stuff right here! I'm glad Froyo has this built in!
     
  9. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Glad you got it to work :D

    Yeah, I was getting much lower scores until I rebooted and ran again. Enjoy!
     
  10. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Yup, once again rebooted and got up to 11.1. Definitely impressive. I was getting 6.9 before I rooted :D
     
  11. silverxbv2

    silverxbv2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    155
    22
    58
    Is this working out good still? I heard it has reboot issues.
     
  12. Mezmryz03

    Mezmryz03 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    114
    33
    43
    Audio/Video Professional
    Southern California
    Anyone try this with the leaked OTA on a rooted device? I would love to try this out.
     
  13. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,188
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    2,188
    207
    143
    College Student
    NC
    good to know its working on stock sense better... it was rebooting a lot at one point
     
  14. mgraham

    mgraham Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    37
    3
    16
    Alexandria, VA
    JIT is nice and I've used it with YASR since 07/08 (disabled it yesterday). JIT improved my phone speed, but I experienced 2 reboots while I was using it and Tapatalk wouldn't work with it. I've read a thread that indicates that the XDA app won't work with it either.

    Once I disabled JIT, Tapatalk started working again. Nice program (Tapatalk), but I'm not sure it works with enough forums to warrant keeping it over JIT.
     
  15. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    Not sure why you had that issue. TapTalk works absolutely fine for me right now with JIT enabled :thinking:
     
  16. mgraham

    mgraham Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    37
    3
    16
    Alexandria, VA
    If you google for "tapatalk jit", you'll see that I'm not the only one. Let me try re-enabling it and I'll let you know how it goes.

    Edit: Re-enabled and getting "Manager is shut down" messages. Squintz, are you using the YASR ROM?

    Edit: More info. When I first re-enabed JIT, XDA worked through tapatalk. I added "Android Central" to my forums and then tried to sign in there. When I did that, I got the "Manager is shut down" error and then I got that same error when I tried XDA again. Later today, I'll try disabling JIT, make sure I am signed into the forums I have and verify they are working, and then re-enable JIT and be sure to not add any new forums.
     
  17. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    I'm using the bone-stock rom with Sense and JIT is definetely enabled. Here's a screen shot using TapTalk after logging into LS2.com...

    [​IMG]
     
  18. mgraham

    mgraham Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    37
    3
    16
    Alexandria, VA
    Well first, I'm using YASR so we aren't using the same rom. Second, I can use Tapatalk with jit enabled as long as I don't try to add a new forum. I just disabled, made sure my two forums work, renabled, and they still work. I bet I can break tapatalk by adding a new one.
     
  19. Dsoto87

    Dsoto87 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    121
    13
    38
    Cool thanks. Works for me on stock rom with a hydra kernel. Hitting around 740 on quadrant and low 11s in linpack.

    I did notice that my phone seemed to take forever to boot. I was just about to pull the battery when it finally started up.
     
  20. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    Hmm my phone was locking up more often, I disabled JIT and it no longer does that. I'll have to try a senseless rom at some point because I'm running the stock rom
     
  21. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    The initial boot takes a LONG time. I was about to do the same thing, but then finally completed. Every boot afterward has been normal.
     
  22. Squintz82

    Squintz82 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    244
    60
    53
    Web / Graphic Designer
    Lindenhurst, NY
    I'll have to watch out for this issue. So far, hasn't locked up or rebooted on me once. Are you running any unique apps?
     
  23. jayisking

    jayisking Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    9
    1
    6
  24. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    295
    48
    63
    Student / Software Developer / Web Developer
    I wouldn't say I'm running anything out of the ordinary. The main ones are LauncherPro, Handcent, Dolphin HD, Google Voice, Swype, Twidroyd, Last.FM, Cubed, SportsTap, a battery widget and a digital clock widget. Nothing is really that unique, but I was getting a lot of force quits and it slowed my phone down until I could force quit the app.
     
  25. Bl4z3

    Bl4z3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    41
    4
    36
    I just finished installing. I got a 745 from Quadrant :D my previous high was 604.
    I'm using the stock 2.1 rom with sense and a Hydra 1.15Ghz OC 25OV/UV kernel. No reboots so far, seems pretty stable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...