1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Just a few q's

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by arcadeguest, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. arcadeguest

    arcadeguest Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    19
    1
    36
    Springfield Mo
    Alright I just got my Bionic last night I am already rooted I am running the 886 ota update to clarify everything. I had a few questions as I am new to the Motorola locked boot loader ordeal. I guess that I am spoiled because I came from HTC phones and the OG droid. My questions are as followed

    1. I am a little confused on the rom portion on this phone I see roms that are built around the 893 OTA since I am on the 886 OTA can I flash these roms or not?
    2. Should I restore and update to 893 and root again?
    3. I still see debates on flashing Clockwork through rom manager on if it work or not. Should I keep using bootstrap or try flashing clockwork through rom manager?
    4. How do I flash the boot animations on this phone?
    Any help is greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MrClean

    MrClean Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    274
    73
    73
    Male
    Telecom
    KC MO
    1. You can flash the ROMs based on .893, you will be missing the new radio/kernel part of the update. I did flashed Theory ROM based on the .893. Then went back to stock, 886, did the 893 update then flashed back to the Theory ROM. I would suggest doing so, it fixed my data dropping problems.
    2. That's what I did, there is a 'forever root' which will survive any update (presently)
    3. I flashed Clockwork through rom manager yesterday, not sure if it took or not, appears that it did to me.
    4. Not sure about those, the one with Theory ROM is pretty cool so I'm happy with it
     
    arcadeguest likes this.
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Just a quick side note. There appears to be two .893 updates. 5.5.893 and 5.6.893. 5.6.893 being newer. I have links in this thread.
     
    Thom likes this.
  4. arcadeguest

    arcadeguest Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011

    Feb 1, 2011
    19
    1
    36
    Springfield Mo
    Thank you guys for the help for some reason i just feel dumb when it comes to this phone. SMH

    Well I installed liberty and I love it. I didn't have 4g this morning well I did after the rom. The funny thing is my area isnt supossed to have 4g till the 11/17. but the rep at bb said that it would be here by the 3rd at the latest apparently thats what the vzw rep said. Well its the 31 and it's here talk about a good day. oh in my area I am getting 15 down and about 7 up.
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,943
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,943
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I looked at your reference ... didn't youj mean to say ... 5.5.893 ... and ...
    5.6.893 ... in the quote above?

    ... Thom
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I saw that too - and fixed it for him - yes, that is exactly hat he meant, he got it right in the post he linked to...so, I fixed it.

    Joe, if you want me to revert it, I will - but I didn't think you'd mind me fixing that.
     
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,943
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,943
    4,920
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Good ... there seems to be a 5.7.893 surfacing now also?

    ... Thom
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    You gotta link me when you say these things....
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I found a linky at DW I think, or DF - it said that ppl are finding it in Cheesecake, and one person reported it on their phone (but cheesecake allows you to change the default update server path, so... that person may not be on the production update server anymore and not realize it).
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    What he said... ;)


    Over at droidforums.net, someone said,
    "5.7.893 shows up with Cheescake. Flashing now

    Flashed it fixed that darn whine when using headphones.
    I also noticed that mine shows web top version
    WT-1.3.0-108_DBN-21

    I had seen other reports that 5.7.893 broke webtop"


    Now I NEED to find it! :D
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    DLing and about to install - I've got both previous files, so it's time to boogie!
     
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    My phone just finished booting ... looks good. The system info is updated to the new version number. Now for some testing ... 3G to WiFi, and back to 3G, and WebTop. I'll have to wait until morning to test 4G connectivity and speeds.

    UPDATE: Getting seemless toggling between 3G and WiFi. Really liking that. And my 3G speeds at home right now are the fastest I've ever tested ... but I'm not too too excited about that. May just be a fluke.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I'm rebooting now as well. I'm going to perform few superficial tests to see if anything has changed in terms of connectivity between my 5.6.893 update and the new 5.7.893 update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...