1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Just completed 1st root, 3 questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bemenaker, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    Just rooted my stock 2.1. Installed Rom Manager, and Titanium Backup. I have made backups w both titanium and with clockwork via rom manager. I have d/l'd a 2.1 BB kernel (800) I wanted to try before going any further.

    Questions:

    1) I don't see any rom's in the download rom section of RM
    2) Do you need to run setCPU w/ oc'd kernels? (assume yes w/ 2.1, thought I saw something about 2.2 it being optional, can't find that post now)
    3) well hell, I don't remember the 3rd question.

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    1) You need ROM manager premium for most of the downloads.
    2) It depends on the ROM, with Bugless Beast you don't need SetCPU but people still prefer to use SetCPU because of the profiles you can setup (ie when your battery is low you can tell it to not go over a certain speed).
     
  3. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    I have rom manager premium but I'm still not seeing anything.

    I just loaded the BB 800 kernel on my stock rom with root. SetCPU is showing scaling, but it is telling me it does not have root access. Should I reapply the root patch?

    Edit:
    I had to reapply the Root patch to the BB kernel.
     
  4. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    It sounds as though you are having a root access problem. Do you have superuser permissions app in your app drawer? Also if you're running stock 2.1 I don't think a different kernel is going to give you overclock without the ROM being deodexed, I'm not positive though.
     
  5. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    Rom manager is acting ok now as well.

    The BB kernel on the stock rom is working beautifully. Now on to a complete custom rom. WOOHOO.
     
  6. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    Have fun and weclome to the addiction. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...