1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Just got a NC 10 minutes ago.. HELP

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Toonz, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
    Hey guys, I just got a NC and would like to root it and install roms. I did some research but some of the instructions are as clear cut as I would like it.

    Can someone please post links/info on the easiest way to root & install roms.

    I currently have a rooted Droid X- so I'm somewhat familiar to the process.

    THANK YOU!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DenverCZBob

    DenverCZBob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    83
    8
    16
    Do a search for 'Auto-Nooter' and pay attention to what version your nook is running now, i.e. 1.0.1, 1.1.0....

    -bob
     
  3. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    This would be my guide of choice:

    How To: Root the Nook Color (AutoNooter Method) | TheUnlockr

    Here is a great video, but beware since the "Setup" instructions slightly deviate from the fore mentioned Instructions.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUoHALWvPts

    This thread will have A LOT of useful information. I suggest you read the whole thing. It shouldn't take more than a few minutes.

    http://androidforums.com/nookcolor-all-things-root/268641-official-i-cant-get-my-nc-root-thread.html

    Here are a few posts that I think will be of particular usefulness. Please forgive my bias, as I will likely list a few of my own posts (why would I post them if I didn't find them useful?).
    • #20 - Really just helps to explain what an .img file is, since you'll be using one... or a few (depending).
    • #22
    • #47 - Another Key-Terms post.
    • #58 - Very big learning experience for me, as without this tip, I had total lack of Market usability.
    • #68 - Describes how to Flash an .img file.



    Finally, here is a short write-up that I wrote a while back that sort of sums up the process.

    1. Download one of these .zip files: auto-nooter-2.12.25.img.zip for NC v1.0.1 and auto-nooter-3.0.0.zip for NC v1.1.0.
    2. Right click on the .zip and "Extract files..." (auto-nooter-3.0.0.img should now be in a folder of its own).
    3. Burn the image with win32imager (you can use WinImage if you like, but I find the download page a bit confusing to know which version you need).
    4. In "My Computer", right click the microSDcard and click "Eject", and then remove the microSDcard from your computer.
    5. Press and hold the power button to turn off your NC (make sure you confirm the "Do you wish to turn off your Nook Color" window).
    6. Insert the microSDcard.
    7. Plug in your USB cable.
    8. And HOPEFULLY 5 minutes later, Voila!


    Hopefully I didn't overwhelm you too much. I just sort of pieced this together. Probably a bit scatter-brained.
     
    breadnatty08 likes this.
  4. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    Welcome to the club, Toonz! One tip I would add to bg's - don't freak if your NC boots & reboots several times during the rooting cycle. I know the video says that it will stay off, but mine turned on and off several times. Its just important that when you start the root that the NC is OFF and you let the root cycle play itself out.

    The guys on this forum are good. If you have any questions, just ask. It took me several tries to get mine to root, but I'm a total Newb. They took my hand and lead me all the way through it. :D
     
    bgrutter likes this.
  5. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    Very curious. I wonder if that has anything to do with v1.1.0. I've no experience with that. Good point to know.
     
  6. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
    thanks all for your support.
     
  7. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    I wanted to respond to your question here in case it helps others.

    You asked how things change when you have a mac. I dont personally own a mac, but from what I've read, the only difference is the program you use to write the .img file to your SDcard. I believe it comes standard with the Mac OS as opposed to having to download a third party program.

    Try these instructions:

    How to burn ISO disc images - Mac OS X Hints
     
  8. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
  9. bgrutter

    bgrutter Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    412
    47
    43
    I dont have ANY cons to list about auto-nooter. But, don't have any experience with Mac.
     
  10. bluewhite79

    bluewhite79 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    128
    8
    36
    use the auto-nooter. but make sure you match which version of auto-nooter you with what firmware you're running on your nook.

    firmware 1.1 goes with autonooter 3.0.
     
  11. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
    i rooted it 2x but I'm unable to get the market to successful download. Any ideas?

    When I try to download something it just stays in que.
     
  12. HarleyChick

    HarleyChick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    201
    12
    38
    Ohio
    Obvious suggestions: first, did you remove the SD card? Second, reboot. Mine did the same thing till I shut it all the way off & restarted.
     
  13. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
    i got it to work after 4 restarts.. thanks again everyone for your help!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...