1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support just got a new N7000...but...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shawn.e, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    So after my mishap with the Evo3D, I picked up a Galaxy Note for my wife and I today. Just got home with it, and went to tinker with it by setting it up the way I've set up my other android phones. Except...there's no market???


    This is a new one for me. There's no market on the device, and the only trace it was ever there is the market updater in the apps list, which is not a usable app by itself. My wife's phone is just fine, market's there and everything.

    How do I get the market, or Google play now, on my phone?

    I'm not interested in rooting it, so please don't suggest it, but any other help would be great.

    Also if anyone has any 'must have's' for the phone, I'd love to hear them.

    *edit* - I'm going to open my mind a little bit...I guess rooting the phone isn't such a terrible thing, so if it can help, I'm all ears.
     

    Advertisement

  2. xxbazhxx

    xxbazhxx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    65
    25
    23
    i would suggest going to google play website registering or logging in if already registered, adding your new phone to your device list and then downloading the market app from there direct to yer mobile......oh and welcome to the forum, hope you have as much fun with yer new note as the rest of us....;-)
     
  3. B2L

    B2L Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,833
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    1,833
    658
    233
    Salt Lake City, UT
    You don't have it at all? It should be called Play Store, I don't believe it can be uninstalled
     
  4. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    I didn't think so either. I'm working on the other suggestion right now, but I need to set up my VPN, since I'm in China right now, and I'm just too tired to do it today. I'll try it out tomorrow, and check back in.
     
  5. McGilli

    McGilli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012

    Mar 21, 2012
    148
    16
    38
    When I brought my phone home there was an icon called MARKET.

    The first time I clicked on it - it deleted itself - and then there was a new icon called Play Store.

    and that 'is' the Google Market when I click on it.


    I then erased my phone and started from stock - and it was the exact same thing that happened.
     
  6. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    I know the intent here is to be helpful, but I need to get something out of the way here. I've spoken to people now at Google, Samsung, and other forums, and I see a trend in responses I've gotten. As grateful as I am that I'm getting responses, 90% of them seem to be making the assumption that I'm blind or stupid, or both, and that the market is there, and I'm just not seeing it.

    Can I please be clear in saying that it's not there. As in, not at all. Not there. It's not called 'Market', which I'm missing because I'm looking for 'Play Store', and it's not called 'Play Store', which I'm missing because I'm looking for 'Market'. It's not there under any title. I'm sorry if that sounded like I'm being a *****e, but I always try and give people the benefit of the doubt, and assume that they've looked when they say something's not there.

    Ok, rant aside, I'm unfortunately still not having much success with the method suggested by xxbazhxx, in that I'm logging in to the Google Play website, however, I cannot even find a market download option. This, however, is something I may have simply missed, as this site is huge, and I haven't looked everywhere. If someone knows where it is, and could point me to it, that would be a great help.
     
  7. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    shawn.e likes this.
  8. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    THANK YOU! hahaha. Believe it or not, I've been looking for a simple download of the store, but I couldn't find anything, and pretty much dismissed it as an option. Thanks for the link, I'll check it out and post results.
     
  9. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    No problem. Let me know if you run into issues. I had to do this when trying out a certain ICS rom.
     
  10. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    I'm doing it now, I'll let you know when it's finished. It's funny that I bought the exact same device for my wife, at the same time, and hers is fine. She tried sending me her market via bluetooth from her phone, but the install didn't work for some reason. Let's see if this works. Fingers crossed...

    *edit* It took a while, but it seems to have installed properly. It's been clocking for quite a while trying to open it, maybe because it's the first time. Not sure.

    *edit 2* so after clocking for a few minutes, I shifted myself in my seat, and the screen tilted, which now says 'Choose Google Account', so I selected my account, and it clocked for a few minutes again. I was curious, so I tilted the screen again, and again it asked me to select my account. WTF? Why does it ask me to select my account if the screen tilts, and clock seemingly indefinitely? Any ideas?
     
  11. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    I've left it on my desk, and it's been clocking for close to 15 minutes...I'm getting the feeling it's not working
     
  12. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    Try rebooting. If not, I have a solution that might work
     
  13. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    Now it's not clocking, it's just an empty grey screen. What else did you want to try?
     
  14. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    Will be back in a bit. Have to head to the store. Wife calls
     
  15. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    My wife's device is Android 3.2.5, but mine's 3.2.6. It's strange that everything on her phone works, but not mine. Would this make a difference?
     
  16. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    no problem
     
  17. Blue1k

    Blue1k Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    608
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009

    Oct 1, 2009
    608
    190
    93
    Teacher/Web Design
    Cloverdale, BC
    Ok I'm sure I can solve this but I have about 5 min lol Have people over dinner and I might die if she finds me on phone forums.

    Ok try this. Go to settings>applications>Manage Apps

    Select the ALL tab.
    Find market updater. Force stop, clear data
    Find Google Play app. Force stop, clear data
    Do not open market
    Reinstall the Google play app I sent you
    Reboot
    Find the google play app again and force stop, clear data

    Log in with your account for Google Play.

    If that doesn't work then we can try another solution.
     
    shawn.e likes this.
  18. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    My wife actually fixed it while you were gone. She found a chinese website (I live in China) and found a walk-through solution that involved basically unpacking all the components manually into the system folder, app folder etc. on the phone.

    So, long story short, I couldn't fix it but the wife could. I'll never hear the end of this.

    Thanks for the help
     
  19. Queen6

    Queen6 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    71
    9
    16
    China; first thing that sprung to my mind when I read your first post, mobile devices can be very much restricted in mainland China, with some even proving to be very difficult to be flashed with different firmware. It`s not that the OP was missing something the app`s were deliberately omitted from the phones software image.
     
  20. shawn.e

    shawn.e Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    17
    1
    16
    Not omitted. As I mentioned in my first post, I bought two devices, and one was just fine. They're both unlocked, unbranded American model phones, as most brand name smart phones in China are. Even Samsung, which of course is Korean, still gets made for the American market, then sent here. I've had a few devices since I've been here, and never had this problem before.

    Either way, problem solved. Onwards and upwards.

    *edit* just re-read my first post, and maybe the wording can be interpreted two ways. When I said "I picked up a Galaxy Note for my wife and I", I meant I bought one for each of us, and not one for us to share.
     
  21. Queen6

    Queen6 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012

    Jan 13, 2012
    71
    9
    16
    More generalising than specific, I have seen some issues previously and over on XDA there is a thread regarding the Chinese version of the Tab 7.7 and the difficulties in getting it 100% functional. I too lived in China for several years and my wife is a national. I am over in Malaysia now where you can buy everything unlocked and no alterations.

    It`s not uncommon for manufacturers to offer differing versions of the same hardware for the US, Euro & Asian markets depending on regulation and or market. My own Notre is a GT-N7000 international version. also some traders`s in the mainland will add app`s root/jailbreak etc to increase perceived value.
     

Share This Page

Loading...