1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Just got galaxy i7500

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by specjr, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. specjr

    specjr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hello all, I just got this phone a few days back. So far it seems ok and free apps are a nice feature. Wondering if this phone will last me another 2 years til i can upgrade again or should i get a better phone now while i still can?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    I think you should get a better phone if you just got this one, and if you can afford it. If price is a concern, you could keep it, it gets the job done although it has its flaws. We've got developers working for us though, so it's not so bad really. Welcome to the forums by the way. :D
     
  3. pikacz

    pikacz Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    definitely get a better one unless you don't care about updates (officially you'll be stuck on 1.6 if you're lucky) plus the speed of this phone is sometihng that makes my teeth grind (i've had it for 10 months and i'm switching to nexus soon)
     
  4. Lelouch

    Lelouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    655
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    655
    70
    98
    Kri
    IMO if you're not a demanding user this phone is OK. Like DaSchmarotzer wrote it gets his job done. It has its flaws (it's a Sam*censored* first phone on Android), but thanks to some developers we will get the max out of this phone.
    Now the question is which Galaxy version of the phone you have? If you have GT-I7500 then OK, but if it's Galaxy S (or some other version)... ...then that's another story.

    BTW, I will stick with this phone for a year to 2 years max. Yes, I'm in love with my phone (it's my first smartphone, and first on Android), so yeah I will remember first love for my whole life.
     
  5. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    246
    14
    58
    How much did you pay for it? And depending on what country you're from you might want to consider this phone,

    Samsung Galaxy 580 - Overview - Samsung Mobile UK
    Samsung Galaxy 3 and Galaxy Apollo review: Galactic twins - GSMArena.com

    Hmm... I've heard (and experienced) corporate idiocy, but this is plain careless. In my area the phone is called the "Samsung Galaxy 3" or i5800 (or i5801) but on the offical UK site it's the 580 ?!?

    Anyway, back to the OP, this phone is available for a cheaper price now, than when I bought my i7500.

    -chronodekar
    PS : I'm making a separate thread to discuss this new model - lets not extend the discussion here too much.
     
  6. specjr

    specjr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I used my upgrade for this phone and didn't pay anything. I can't return it now though so I'm stuck with it lol. Lots of reading to do here cuz I will attempt to upgrade my firmware so I can watch flash videos. It doesn't work with version 1.5. Is this the latest correct guide to update to 2.2 GalaxyUpdater : V1.0 | drakaz Thanks for the replies ;) edit : I have the I-7500L and live in Newfoundland, Canada.
     
  7. chronodekar

    chronodekar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    246
    14
    58
    We don't have any update to 2.2. :rolleyes:

    At least, nothing finished yet. The only 'official' update we've got is to 1.6.

    Please be careful with the phone - you don't want to brick it too soon, do you?

    As for flash videos, I don't think that was a priority for Drakaz. Then again, who am I to know? I'm still on galaxo. he,he. ;)

    -chronodekar
     
    specjr likes this.
  8. specjr

    specjr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Yeah I'm kinda scared to try that update. I will read more before I attempt it
     
  9. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    186
    28
    63
    SAP consultant
    Belgium
    No need to be scared though, I'm on the latest nightly and it serves me admirably at the moment. (I'm not a power user though, I haven't tested the full functionality of the device, but the only thing so far that troubles me with it is the 3d gallery (it works but it's f***ing slow, so I'm looking into getting the 2d version back)

    EDIT: by the way, for galaxo users: the way to install the nightlies is exactly the same as how to install galaxo (recovery, apply nightly zip, apply gapps zip). So nothing to be afraid of (unless you have an i7500L)
     
  10. MichaelW

    MichaelW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    364
    26
    43
    Just a note that I don't believe flash videos will ever work on our phone. It's only supported on one particular processor as far as I'm aware and that isn't the one in our Galaxy.
     
  11. Bomberman

    Bomberman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009

    Flash videos - Skyfire browser :)
     
  12. specjr

    specjr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I have the i7500L :(
     
  13. weasel

    weasel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    401
    23
    38
    Nuclear Operator (no shit !!)
    Renfrew, ON
    2.2 can be done on the L, but it requires a few workarounds. I would recommend holding off until they get a better solution ( at least that's what I am doing for now ).
     
  14. specjr

    specjr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    ahhh I knew it wouldn't be as easy as scanning the barcode in :( Thanks for all the input. I'll hold off for a while!
     

Share This Page

Loading...