1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

just got handcent.. need some help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by John Connor, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. John Connor

    John Connor Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    38
    1
    26
    so 2 days ago i decided to try handcent and was immediately blown away from the features and ways to customize... makes me wonder why the droid didnt come stock with it in the firstplace!!!!...

    but today when i tried adding a contact i kept receiving messages from that contact only as the number... it wont show his name at the top... any reason why its doing this?...

    i tried different ways to save the contact and text my friend but it will only show his number and not his name
     

    Advertisement

  2. dmm

    dmm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    I've had that happen with the stock messaging app a couple of times. Try rebooting your phone
     
  3. John Connor

    John Connor Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    38
    1
    26
    sorry im kind of a noob.. how would i reboot it?....

    weird thing is i pulled up the stock messaging app and it shows im receiving messages from my friend but it does show his name.. handcent just shows the number at the top...

    i was really starting to fall inlove with this app a :(
     
  4. dmm

    dmm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    Shut the phone down and turn it back on. If that doesn't work i'd try uninstalling and then re-installing handcent
     
  5. riffdex

    riffdex Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    730
    32
    68
    i dont think he knows how to reboot the phone

    @op
    plug your phone into ac power. hold down the power button (button on the top of droid) for a second. select power off.

    your phone will now shut off and reboot (keep in mind any unsaved data will be lost)



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. FrayAdjacent

    FrayAdjacent Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    274
    4
    36
    Austin, Texas
    Or hold down the power until the popup menu comes up. Select shut off. Once the screen goes blank, hit the power button for a couple seconds and it reboots.
     
  7. al911er

    al911er Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010

    Jan 30, 2010
    42
    4
    16
    In the Handcent settings, under "bubble Settings" make sure "show names" is checked.
     
  8. mrselvis

    mrselvis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    Hi, I've also got this problem.
    I've checked the show names and rebooted but bizarrely its only showing certain peoples names, any ideas ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...