1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support just got the phone for $100 but cannot end a call or activate the snooze ,anyone else having those ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mike thomson, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. mike thomson

    mike thomson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    hello
    i was so excited about the HTC Wildfire S cuz they had 50% sale on it on black friday , i had the LG Optimus V and i decided to get those phone cuz it had 5 MP camera and for only 100 bucks !

    i got the phone on black friday but i am not satisfied with it .
    it has so many bugs
    *sometimes the touch screen stops responding for no reason
    *very low internal memory , and apps take up too much space (like 10MBbs for an app that is only 2Mb
    *there is no camera button which makes it hard to take pics , or take pic of yourself .
    *it gets very slow sometimes

    all that i can ignore but here are my main problems :
    *most of the time when i make a phone call i cannot use the "end call" button
    i keep clicking and clickin and nothin happens , it happens like 80% of the time.:mad:
    * i have to wake up for college and i CANNOT use the "snooze" button , i click on it but nothing happens , the alarm keeps goin , sometimes after like 15 clicks it works but most of the time i have to dismiss it then change the alarm time for 10 more mins so i can sleep !:mad:
    *when playing music using the headphones , i suppose that i can pause the music without unlocking the screen , cuz its already shown on the home screen without having to unlock , but same problem here , the play/pause button does not work , but the "previous" and ""next" button work

    this is extremely annoying for me , i still have my LG Optimus V and i am considering returning my phone , i dunno if i an return it though (i got it from bestbuy on friday)

    anyways if you guys have any thoughts on this or have the same problems i would appreciate your feedback:)

    thank you !! :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. amk2795

    amk2795 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    190
    14
    58
    Female
    Cashier at Portillo's
    Where I live
    I haven't had any of these problems, I love my Wildfire. You should try exchanging it.

    You should be waking up, not going back to sleep.....
     
  3. sisu

    sisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    except the camera button issue, they all COULD be caused by very low memory and/or strained cpu (lot apps trying to sync, update, etc). i got my phone on BF too and havent had any real issues yet. Try hard reset and see what happens
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,116
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,116
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    It actually sounds like your handset is faulty, so you may want to see about a replacement.

    I think LG Camera app & Camera Zoom FX (I know CFX definitely has it, but it's not free) give you the option of using the volume buttons to take pics so you might want to give either of those a try.
     
  5. mike thomson

    mike thomson Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Nov 28, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    does that mean i will lose everything on my phone ?
     
  6. sisu

    sisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    You will lose everything YOU have done to the phone. But you won't lose any of the factory installed apps.
    Basically, you go back in time to the moment when you started up the phone for the first time... :), except for you don't need to re-activate it.
    You will lose all your custom settings, all your downloads (idk how paid downloads work, but I guess you can re-download those too). You will lose all your contacts, all your saved logins/passwords, all your updates, except for any firmware updates, those are unaffected.

    I actually reset my phone, after messing so much around with the scenes n other stuff, and wanted it back to the original settings.

    Settings -> SD & Phone Storage -> Factory Data Reset. I left the Erase SD card unchecked. Lost my contacts, but my music were still there.

    I just re-transferred my contacts from the old phone via bluetooth

    If that doesn't fix your phone, then I suggest, like El Presidente said, you should return or replace it.
     
  7. agentc13

    agentc13 Daleks Über Alles
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    7,916
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011

    Aug 31, 2011
    7,916
    5,482
    823
    Skaro
    When linked to your google account, your contacts should be saved (i.e. it will add your contacts automatically when you resync your phone with your google account). It is that way on all the Android phones I have used.
    This even applies if you ever switch to a different phone altogether at some later date.
    Virgin has a 30 day return policy and a 1 year replacement policy, so if the software fixes/phone resets don't work, I would check into that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...